Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,240

    Default No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    Leap 42.3 KDE Core i3 Desktop with G03 nvidia blob, dual boot windows 10. This is a secondary (backup) work machine, not frequently used.

    Yesterday after the updates below, boot screen shows only grub console prompt.

    Security updates for:
    Code:
    ucode-intel
    mariadb
    kernel-firmware
    java-1_8_0-openjdk
    Security update for ghostscript tabooed due to new version incompatibility with pstoedit ( https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...ing-PDF-to-DXF )

    Recommended updates for:
    Code:
    xorg-11-server
    wireless-regdb
    systemd (228-44.1 > 228-47.1)
    pithon3-py
    messagelib
    gcc7
    I've been looking at https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...c.trouble.boot but it seems a bit convoluted (item 16.3.1 calls 16.6.6.3, 16.6.6.4, chroot, etc.)

    Apparently the way is to re-install the boot loader using grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg, or is it safer to use the "Boot Linux System" option from the install disk?

    Probably I can start W10 from the "boot from installed system" install disk option or from UEFI, but I don't want to mess the W10 install as it has activated paid-for software, and recovering the activation form the vendors is a PITA. It seems that some vendors think that hard drives never fail, motherboards never break, etc.

    How may I fix this problem?

    Thank you,


    Bruno

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,240

    Default Re: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    Both and windows 10 and linux root are installed in the same SSD. Smart short test from partition magic live disk show no problems on the SSD (/dev/sda).

    Item 16.6.2.4 of troubleshooting manual says:

    Check that the GRUB 2 boot loader is installed on the system. If not, install the package grub2 and run

    • Code:
      grub2-install /dev/sda
    How do I check where the boot loader is installed? Is it enough to specify /dev/sda or it could be in a partion? The disk is UEFI/GPT, I'll post the partitioning scheme shortly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,681
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    Yesterday after the updates below, boot screen shows only grub console prompt.
    I don't think there was anything that should cause this problem.

    On my system, "grub.cfg" was updated. I think that's related to the ucode update, and the rebuilding of the "initrd". But "grub" was not reinstalled. So it should still be able to read and display its menu.

    However, this could be a delayed effect from an earlier grub update. I don't think that happens on a UEFI system. But on a legacy system, if the installed grub boot code is relying on block lists to access "core.img", that can still work if "core.img" is removed, but can later fail when the disk sectors are re-used for something else.

    In any case, you will probably need to boot into rescue mode, and reinstall grub. Ask if you need more details.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,240

    Default Re: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    Code:
    root@PartedMagic:~# parted -l
    Model: ATA Samsung SSD 840 (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sda: 250GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: gpt
    Disk Flags: 
    
    Number  Start   End    Size    File system     Name                          Flags
     1      1049kB  473MB  472MB   ntfs            Basic data partition          hidden, diag
     2      473MB   577MB  104MB   fat32           EFI system partition          boot, esp
     3      577MB   593MB  16.8MB                  Microsoft reserved partition  msftres
     4      593MB   108GB  107GB   ntfs            Basic data partition          msftdata
     5      108GB   117GB  8590MB  linux-swap(v1)  swap
     6      117GB   154GB  37.6GB  btrfs           root
     7      154GB   250GB  95.9GB  xfs             home
    
    
    Model: ATA WDC WD10EZEX-00R (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
    Partition Table: msdos
    Disk Flags: 
    
    Number  Start   End     Size    Type     File system  Flags
     1      1049kB  301GB   301GB   primary  ntfs
     2      301GB   310GB   8590MB  primary  xfs
     3      310GB   312GB   2147MB  primary  xfs
     4      312GB   1000GB  688GB   primary  xfs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,240

    Default Re: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    I thought I could use the instructions below from item 16.3.1 of the guide, but it refers to MBR only, and the disk is GPT, so it doesn't apply, right?

    Alternatively, you can use the Rescue System to fix the boot loader as follows. Boot your machine from the installation media. In the boot screen, choose More › Boot Linux System. Select the disk containing the installed system and kernel with the default kernel options.

    Figure 16.3: Select Disk Report Bug #



    When the system is booted, start YaST and switch to System › Boot Loader. Make sure that the Write generic Boot Code to MRB option is enabled, and press OK. This fixes the corrupted boot loader by overwriting it, or installs the boot loader if it's missing.
    Could I try to boot the installed LEAP (from the install disk) and just rewrite the boot loader from Yast, if at all possible (it doesn't seem to have this option)?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,240

    Default Re: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I don't think there was anything that should cause this problem.
    Probably not, I also updated a backup server box at the same time and had no problems. The main difference is that it has a Celeron J1800 CPU with integrated graphics.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,240

    Default Re: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    In any case, you will probably need to boot into rescue mode, and reinstall grub. Ask if you need more details.
    Can I do this from the grub console itself?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,681
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    I thought I could use the instructions below from item 16.3.1 of the guide, but it refers to MBR only, and the disk is GPT, so it doesn't apply, right?
    It should also work for GPT. However, if this is UEFI, then something else is wrong.

    You can actually reinstall in that case, too. But the problem you have seems less likely, unless there is major file system corruption.

    Could I try to boot the installed LEAP (from the install disk) and just rewrite the boot loader from Yast, if at all possible (it doesn't seem to have this option)?
    I don't think there's an option for that. But maybe there is, but I haven't needed it.

    Otherwise:
    Mount partitions. Mount root partition to "/mnt" then mount everything relative to that. For UEFI, that includes mounting "/boot/efi" For "btrfs" you have to also mount the subvolumes.

    mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev
    mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc
    mount --bind /sys /mnt/sys
    chroot /mnt

    For "btrfs" you can perhaps mount subvolumes from inside the chroot environment. It might be easier that way.

    After that, use something like:
    Code:
    grub2-install --force /dev/sdaX
    install to the boot device. For UEFI, you should only need "grub2-install".

    While still in that chroot environment
    Code:
    grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
    The "exit" from chroot, reboot, and
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,240

    Default Re: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    You can actually reinstall in that case, too. But the problem you have seems less likely, unless there is major file system corruption.
    The "Boot from Linux" install disk option didn't work, the screen got garbled and it kept beeping each 60 seconds or so.

    I did boot to windows from the UEFI menu and deactivated the online licenses of certain applications, but of course I want to preserve W10 installation since reactivating it is probably a PITA - When I changed W10 from a VM to this desktop, the reactivation process by phone was awful, I had to type a gazillion codes to reactivate. And now I'm waiting for it to download a few GB of updates. Ah, the joys of windows...

    I don't think there's anything wrong with the disk, but I could run a fs check from partition magic livecd. I'm not sure about btrfs, thou.

    If I reinstall I can keep home but all my installed software in /, including updates, will be lost, right? Or if I don't format the partition the installer smart enough to keep what is already there? I think not, because of the updated kernel.

    Thanks,

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,240

    Default Re: No grub menu - only grub console at boot

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    For "btrfs" you can perhaps mount subvolumes from inside the chroot environment. It might be easier that way.

    After that, use something like:
    Code:
    grub2-install --force /dev/sdaX
    That's what I'm a bit wary of, IINM there are a lot of subvolumes to mount - it is a standard LEAP installation.

    PS: sdaX is the root partition (sda6), EFI (sda2) or another?

    Thank you!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •