Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Many signatures created/visible in KGpg after installing torbrowser-launcher

heyjoe NNTP User

Question Many signatures created/visible in KGpg after installing torbrowser-launcher

Some time ago I filed this bug report:

https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1079251

Since then I haven't looked at KGpg. Normally in it there was only one key.
    But the other day when I looked I saw a key named "Tor Browser Developers" and under it lost of items with Name="[No user id found]" (perhaps 50 or more). There is only one item with Name="Tor Browser Developers".

I am still learning about crypto keys and all that stuff is not quite clear to me. Yet it looks like a mess.

Is that related to the bug? (i.e. is it a result of it?)
    And is it safe/recommended to delete all that mess? (or if not - how do I clean it up)

Blog Entries

Default Re: Many signatures created/visible in KGpg after installing torbrowser-launcher

Quote Originally Posted by heyjoe View Post
    Since then I haven't looked at KGpg. Normally in it there was only one key.
    I just looked here. I see 220 keys.

It is easy to have a lot of keys.

Some of the keys do not have an email address. I think they all have a name field, but that's probably not required. It would not surprise me if the Tor folk use keys with no user and no email address.

I don't use tor here, so I don't have experience with it. From your description, it seems that maybe torbrowser comes with a bunch of keys, and you imported those to your keyring.

There's probably no reason for concern. It should be safe to delete keys that you are not using. Just be careful to not delete your own key.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

heyjoe NNTP User

Default Re: Many signatures created/visible in KGpg after installing torbrowser-launcher

Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I just looked here. I see 220 keys.

It is easy to have a lot of keys.
    But why does one need those?