Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: grub menu key and zero timeout

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    357

    Default grub menu key and zero timeout

    so after removing windows id like to pass over the grub screen ..but be able to access for possible rollbacks. I have tried the shift key and nothing happens (despite that leap 42.3 docs/ref claim it does). After recent mailing list post a user suggested the escape key, but for my laptop this gives the bios menu. Thanks for suggestions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: grub menu key and zero timeout

    The shift key is used to display the menu if it is hidden. Your question sounds like you are trying to hide the menu. You can use the YaST Boot Loader gui to change the settings.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    357

    Default Re: grub menu key and zero timeout

    for anyone else that thinks the OP is a total imbecile and would hold the shift key to hide the menu:

    menu already disabled with zero timeout.
    the shift key DOES NOT WORK in displaying grub menu (either by repeated press or constant press)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: grub menu key and zero timeout

    I apologize if I have insulted you, no intention to just the way I read the question.

    When I have the "Hide" option set, or the time set to 0, when booting I get a quick display of pressing the letter t to show the menu. I have just performed several reboots and pressing the letter t works for me.

    Hope this helps. Sorry again if it doesn't.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,142

    Default Re: grub menu key and zero timeout

    Quote Originally Posted by ndc33 View Post
    for anyone else that thinks the OP is a total imbecile and would hold the shift key to hide the menu:
    It could also be that you did not explain your case clear enough so that people are coming to incorrect conclusions or assumptions. Suggesting that someone, who is pending his spare time in trying to help you, is thinking you are total imbecile is the best way to assure that you will not get any answer at all in the future.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    357

    Default Re: grub menu key and zero timeout

    thanks for your investigations but neither shift key nor the 't' key appear do anything (and escape opens bios)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: grub menu key and zero timeout

    Wait a bit longer before pressing the t key. You want to get past the bios, and for me, even with time set to 0, there is a brief screen displayed prompting you to press the t key, but by the time you have read it, it is too late. Press the t the moment it appears.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: grub menu key and zero timeout

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    It could also be that you did not explain your case clear enough so that people are coming to incorrect conclusions or assumptions. Suggesting that someone, who is pending his spare time in trying to help you, is thinking you are total imbecile is the best way to assure that you will not get any answer at all in the future.
    Yes, indeed. I had considered ignoring this question for that very reason, but:

    To OP:

    Before you can use the "Hold Shift Key" trick, you must first set it up.

    Go here:

    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...59#post2670959

    Check the following message, as well. You will need to remake and reinstall Grub.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    357

    Default Re: grub menu key and zero timeout

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraser_Bell View Post

    Before you can use the "Hold Shift Key" trick, you must first set it up.

    Go here:

    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...59#post2670959
    Thanks, that solved it.
    - i dont understand why the file is not included by default
    - https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...cha.grub2.html appears therefore wrong.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: grub menu key and zero timeout

    Quote Originally Posted by ndc33 View Post
    Thanks, that solved it.
    - i dont understand why the file is not included by default
    - https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...cha.grub2.html appears therefore wrong.
    Yes, I have seen the same thing mentioned for Grub various places on the internet, so is that a mistake in the documentation or otherwise? I don't know, but my script solves it. I use it on a lot of my machines.

    Keep in mind, much of the online documentation ends up getting outdated because we simply do not have enough volunteers with enough knowledge about the subjects and the time to spend updating the knowledge base.

    Most of those with the knowledge are already snowed under developing, fixing, and maintaining.

    Anyone is welcome to pitch in, and if you wish to help, you could look into finding the correct answers for that document and fixing it. Just follow the links about contributing to openSUSE.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •