Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: no network after updrade

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bath UK
    Posts
    293

    Default no network after updrade

    My 32bit laptop has been running 13.3 but today I decided i should upgrade to tumbleweed (all my other machines are 64bit and run Leap 42.3) I did an online upgrade, and after many hours and installing 2177 packages it said it was done and I rebooted

    First oddity was the boot messages were all shown twice (I hit ESC to see them) but it boote. BUT it was not connected to my lan. iwconfig saidd it was up but not assosiated with wifi AP. Tried using yast2 to configure and it looked OK apart from asking bout a zone -- which I have not seen before. No ifconfig program either.

    Two immediate questions:

    1: How do I get a wifi connection?

    2: what should i do about zones?

    and bonus question, why double messages?

    I do not run gnome or kde; just fvwm + xterms+emacs

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,699
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: no network after updrade

    Quote Originally Posted by jpff View Post
    My 32bit laptop has been running 13.3 but today I decided i should upgrade to tumbleweed (all my other machines are 64bit and run Leap 42.3) I did an online upgrade, and after many hours and installing 2177 packages it said it was done and I rebooted

    First oddity was the boot messages were all shown twice (I hit ESC to see them) but it boote. BUT it was not connected to my lan. iwconfig saidd it was up but not assosiated with wifi AP. Tried using yast2 to configure and it looked OK apart from asking bout a zone -- which I have not seen before. No ifconfig program either.

    Two immediate questions:

    1: How do I get a wifi connection?

    2: what should i do about zones?

    and bonus question, why double messages?

    I do not run gnome or kde; just fvwm + xterms+emacs
    You're best advised to start separate threads for each of the issues you've encountered. With respect to the wireless issue, a good start would be to post the hardware details eg via lspci or hwinfo...
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/hwinfo --netcard
    Which network devices are present?
    Code:
    ip a
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 17-Feb-2018 at 15:38.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,699
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: no network after updrade

    Also, you didn't mention whether you are using NetworkManager or wicked to manage your network interfaces. That can be configured via

    YaST > System > Network Settings > Global Settings

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bath UK
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: no network after updrade

    [QUOTE=deano_ferrari;2855903]You're best advised to start separate threads for each of the issues you've encountered. With respect to the wireless issue, a good start would be to post the hardware details eg via spci or hwinfo...
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/hwinfo --netcard
    [quote]

    Hum. I can run it and I have but caoturung the output is harder (it is not onnected). Will have to find a memory stick.

    It is using ipw2200 driver

    Which network devices are present?
    Code:
    ip a
    eth0 is a wred ethernet, eth1 is wireless. Also exists an ir and something else I forget.

    I used to have eth1 start ob boot with static I address, and as far as I can tell from yast2 that is what is set

    iwlist scan sees the AP as well. The wifi-active light goes on and off during boot but off when booted.

    Will look for a memory stick

    Sorry about the multiple questions -- I thought they were related.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bath UK
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: no network after updrade

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Also, you didn't mention whether you are using NetworkManager or wicked to manage your network interfaces. That can be configured via

    YaST > System > Network Settings > Global Settings
    Using wicked and set that way. Never could get the network manager to do anything and I am rather old-school, or even old to learn new tricks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,699
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: no network after updrade

    Quote Originally Posted by jpff View Post
    Hum. I can run it and I have but caoturung the output is harder (it is not onnected). Will have to find a memory stick.
    Yes, that's what would normally be recommended when wired ethernet not available.

    It is using ipw2200 driver
    Ok.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,699
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: no network after updrade

    Quote Originally Posted by jpff View Post
    Using wicked and set that way. Never could get the network manager to do anything and I am rather old-school, or even old to learn new tricks.
    Good to know. That helps with any configuration advice that may be given (rather than assuming NM is in use as with most laptop users).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,699
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: no network after updrade

    Check that the 'ipw-firmware' package is installed
    Code:
    rpm -qa|grep ipw-firmware
    Check for firmware issues reported at boot
    Code:
    dmesg|egrep "ipw|firmware"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,699
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: no network after updrade

    If the firmware checks out ok, try observing dmesg output while connecting. To do this open a terminal window and do
    Code:
    dmesg -w
    Open another and do
    Code:
    sudo ifdown eth1
    Code:
    sudo ifup eth1
    That should help with determining if there are any authentication issues preventing association.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bath UK
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: no network after updrade

    I checked the firmware and the package exists.
    warning: Unsupported version of key: V3
    ipw-firmware-9-20.4.noarch

    In dmesg the ipw stuff looks OK. Will send when I get to a connection computer with USB.

    Tried the ifdown/ifup experiment and on the calling xterms it said
    Code:
    # ifdown eth1
    eth1            device-ready
    # ifup eth1
    eth1            device-not-running
    #
    But nothing appeared in dmesg.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •