Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Run an shell script via a udev rule

Default Run an shell script via a udev rule

Hi
    I'm quite new with OpenSUSE, but I'm used to another distro from the RPM family : Fedora.
    I used it for several years, but now I'm working on a development project.

I am using OpenSUSE Leap 42.3 on my laptop, and am working on a program that will detect when a CD/DVD drive is inserted or removed.
    For now what I achieved is to have a udev rule that launches a bash script, and this script logs output to a log file.
    I can successfully read the entries in this log file, the disc insertion/removal is logged correctly.

/etc/udev/rules.d/autodvd.rules :
    Code:
    SUBSYSTEM=="block", ENV{ID_CDROM}=="?*", 
    ENV{ID_PATH}=="pci-0000:00:1f.2-scsi-0:0:0:0", ACTION=="change", 
    RUN+="/usr/local/bin/autodvd"
    /usr/local/bin/autodvd :
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    {
      echo "ENTER SCRIPT"
      if [ "$ID_CDROM_MEDIA" = "1" ]; then
        echo "$(date)    DISC INSERTED"
      else
        echo "$(date)    DISC EJECTED"
      fi
    } &>> "/var/log/autodvd.log" &
    An example of the output I got in this log file :
    Code:
    ENTER SCRIPT
    Fri Feb  9 23:40:44 CET 2018    DISC EJECTED
    ENTER SCRIPT
    Fri Feb  9 23:40:58 CET 2018    DISC INSERTED
    ENTER SCRIPT
    Fri Feb  9 23:41:28 CET 2018    DISC EJECTED
    ENTER SCRIPT
    Fri Feb  9 23:41:28 CET 2018    DISC EJECTED
    What I want to do next is to launch a SH script when the disc is inserted/removed, so I tried to add a line like this one
    Code:
    sh /home/jean/some-script.sh
    just after the "echo" command, either for the insert or ejected case, but I can't get it to work.
    For instance, if i used this shell script to launch an instance of firefox or leafpad, the application is launched if I run the script from terminal.
    But nothing happens when I try to call the shell script from my "autodvd" script.