Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: "init 3" never completes

  1. #1

    Question "init 3" never completes

    strace shows it stuck at ppoll(fd;3, poll in) where 3 is some socket in the 70,000 range per /proc/[pid]/fd/3

    It seems to effectively achieve init 3, but it never returns to the console without Ctrl+C.

    I don't know how to figure out what the socket represents to debug any further, or where that's actually occurring in source code. I think something about systemctl in systemd possibly.

  2. #2

    Default Re: "init 3" never completes

    Okay, this seems really ugly.

    log into gui, then log out
    ctrl + alt + F1 to console
    log in as root
    init 3, hangs
    ctrl + c
    init 5 and GUI comes up (or ctrl + alt F7 to get there)
    type password press enter
    "Could not sync envirnonment to dbus."
    Nothing works, cannot ctrl alt F1
    ssh from other machine and init 3
    drops machine back to root's console
    password is on the screen in plain text, the gui wasn't getting keyboard input, the hidden root session was!

    That's very bad.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,673
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: "init 3" never completes

    Quote Originally Posted by xorbe View Post
    That's very bad.
    A bug report might be in order.

    I just tried this.

    CTRL-ALT-F1 : okay, and logged in as root.
    telinit 3 : hung, until I used ^C
    telinit 5 : seemed okay. The GUI started without a problem.

    Repeated, same sequence.

    I was use "lightdm" during this test. It might be diffferent with "gdm", because "gdm" runs under "wayland" (if the needed wayland packages are installed).
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  4. #4

    Default Re: "init 3" never completes

    I'm using the default sddm. I filed a bug report that yast2 doesn't properly adjust -listen tcp, it was closed with "just hand edit sddm.conf" so I don't feel like filing bug reports with that sort of response.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,673
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: "init 3" never completes

    I'm just an ordinary user. So I can't explain that.

    Generally speaking, bugs are handled well. Occasionally, they are treated as not serious.

    A failure of "init 3" to return is likely to be seen as serious. I suggest you give it a try. And post the bug number here. Then I can confirm it, based on my testing.

    I should have added that CTRL-ALT-Backspace failed to kill the GUI session. I'm not sure if that is an intended change.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    537

    Default Re: "init 3" never completes

    I ran into the same problem: "init 3 never completes".

    VERSION_ID="20180121"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,336
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: "init 3" never completes

    Quote Originally Posted by ravas View Post
    I ran into the same problem: "init 3 never completes".

    VERSION_ID="20180121"
    Hi
    Maybe fixed now...?
    Code:
    init 3
    init 5
    
    systemctl isolate multi-user
    systemctl isolate graphical
    
    cat /etc/os-release 
    NAME="openSUSE Tumbleweed"
    # VERSION="20180122 "
    Gnome DE, Nvidia 340.106 all working as expected.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7,096

    Default Re: "init 3" never completes

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Maybe fixed now...?
    Which DM are you using?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,336
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: "init 3" never completes

    On Wed 24 Jan 2018 02:36:02 PM CST, arvidjaar wrote:

    malcolmlewis;2852433 Wrote:
    > Maybe fixed now...?


    Which DM are you using?
    Hi
    The default with GNOME, gdm

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE Leap 42.3|GNOME 3.20.2|4.4.104-39-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  10. #10

    Default Re: "init 3" never completes

    With 20180122, init 3 still hangs the same way, *but* ctrl-C then init 5 results in a working X session login now. (Unless I'm somehow doing something slightly different today.) edit: Ah, nope, on the 3rd time, it all wedged up with the same "Could not sync envirnonment to dbus." at gui login and Ctrl+Alt_F1 not working. Had to reboot over ssh.

    I like the new login light bulb logo.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •