Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Some problems with smb:// in Dolphin

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    793

    Default Some problems with smb:// in Dolphin

    I am running KDE Plasma 5 in Tumbleweed and like to use smb://ip.addr in dolphin to access shares and this works fine for my NAS and Linux shares but when I use the IP address of a Windows 7 PC it says it cannot be found. I know the PC is on the lan and can ping it OK. Accessing via smbclient shows:-

    Code:
    smbclient -L 192.168.0.8
    Enter DISORGANISATION\stuart's password: 
    
            Sharename       Type      Comment
            ---------       ----      -------
            ADMIN$          Disk      Remote Admin
            C$              Disk      Default share
            D$              Disk      Default share
            IPC$            IPC       Remote IPC
            print$          Disk      Printer Drivers
            Stuart          Disk      
            Users           Disk      
            Weatherdata     Disk      
    Reconnecting with SMB1 for workgroup listing.
    Connection to 192.168.0.8 failed (Error NT_STATUS_RESOURCE_NAME_NOT_FOUND)
    Failed to connect with SMB1 -- no workgroup available
    I can also access it via the PC's name with smbclient with this result:-

    Code:
    smbclient -L STUARTS-PC
    Enter DISORGANISATION\stuart's password: 
    
            Sharename       Type      Comment
            ---------       ----      -------
            ADMIN$          Disk      Remote Admin
            C$              Disk      Default share
            D$              Disk      Default share
            IPC$            IPC       Remote IPC
            print$          Disk      Printer Drivers
            Stuart          Disk      
            Users           Disk      
            Weatherdata     Disk      
    Reconnecting with SMB1 for workgroup listing.
    
            Server               Comment
            ---------            -------
    
            Workgroup            Master
            ---------            -------
    I have NETBIOS over TCP/IP enabled on the Windows 7 PC. I can do the abovetuart on my Leap 42.3 system and it works OK.

    Also if I type smb:// on its own in dolphin it should display the workgroup and then if I click on that display associated PCs. This does NOT work on Tumbleweed but does work on Leap 42.3.

    Anyone have any ideas why this is happening?

    Stuart

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,339
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Some problems with smb:// in Dolphin

    Hi
    Add some debug to the output;
    Code:
    smbclient -d2 -L 192.168.0.8
    The samba changes in TW, need to look at the vers=1.0 AFAIK, but look at the debug output to see what it's saying
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,708
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Some problems with smb:// in Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by broadstairs View Post
    This does NOT work on Tumbleweed but does work on Leap 42.3.

    Anyone have any ideas why this is happening?

    Stuart
    This may be of interest to you
    https://www.linux.com/blog/2017/9/li...-dont-use-smb1
    https://www.happyassassin.net/2017/1...l-version-fun/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    793

    Default Re: Some problems with smb:// in Dolphin

    Well I ran smbclient with debug (3 not 2 as it happens)

    Code:
    smbclient -d3 -L 192.168.0.8
    lp_load_ex: refreshing parameters
    Initialising global parameters
    rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
    Processing section "[global]"
    added interface enp5s0 ip=192.168.0.6 bcast=192.168.0.255 netmask=255.255.255.0
    Client started (version 4.7.3-git.30.54c196e5d35SUSE-oS15.5-x86_64).
    Connecting to 192.168.0.8 at port 445
    got OID=1.3.6.1.4.1.311.2.2.30
    got OID=1.3.6.1.4.1.311.2.2.10
    Enter DISORGANISATION\stuart's password: 
    GENSEC backend 'gssapi_spnego' registered
    GENSEC backend 'gssapi_krb5' registered
    GENSEC backend 'gssapi_krb5_sasl' registered
    GENSEC backend 'spnego' registered
    GENSEC backend 'schannel' registered
    GENSEC backend 'naclrpc_as_system' registered
    GENSEC backend 'sasl-EXTERNAL' registered
    GENSEC backend 'ntlmssp' registered
    GENSEC backend 'ntlmssp_resume_ccache' registered
    GENSEC backend 'http_basic' registered
    GENSEC backend 'http_ntlm' registered
    GENSEC backend 'krb5' registered
    GENSEC backend 'fake_gssapi_krb5' registered
    Got challenge flags:
    Got NTLMSSP neg_flags=0x628a8215
    NTLMSSP: Set final flags:
    Got NTLMSSP neg_flags=0x62088215
    NTLMSSP Sign/Seal - Initialising with flags:
    Got NTLMSSP neg_flags=0x62088215
    NTLMSSP Sign/Seal - Initialising with flags:
    Got NTLMSSP neg_flags=0x62088215
    
            Sharename       Type      Comment
            ---------       ----      -------
            ADMIN$          Disk      Remote Admin
            C$              Disk      Default share
            D$              Disk      Default share
            IPC$            IPC       Remote IPC
            print$          Disk      Printer Drivers
            Stuart          Disk      
            Users           Disk      
            Weatherdata     Disk      
    Reconnecting with SMB1 for workgroup listing.
    E2BIG: convert_string(UTF-8,CP850): srclen=20 destlen=16 - 'TUMBLEWEED.CROWHILL'
    Connecting to 192.168.0.8 at port 139
    Connecting to 192.168.0.8 at port 139
    Connection to 192.168.0.8 failed (Error NT_STATUS_RESOURCE_NAME_NOT_FOUND)
    Failed to connect with SMB1 -- no workgroup available
    It appears to be that it is trying to use SMB1 but I have no idea why. The windows machine has the relevant ports open and the correct workgroup set up. Access from windows to linux works. I think I'll ignore what is happening on my 42.3 system as after an update today some of that stopped working as well, I'll open a separate thread on that when I get this sorted.

    Stuart

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •