Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: smb doesn't show workgroup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Royse City, TX
    Posts
    209

    Default smb doesn't show workgroup

    Starting yesterday, I assume after some update, smb, or maybe kio_smb, started misbehaving.

    Perviously, when entering "smb:/" into the address bar of Dolphin, I would get an icon with the name of the workgroup, which I could then click on and see the other computers in the workgroup.

    Now, when I enter "smb:/", an empty window appears.

    If I enter "smb://[computer name]", the shared folders in [computer name] appear and I can access them normally.

    But it would be nice to be able to see all the computers in the workgroup at once.

    Is this a bug in an updated version of smb, or is there something I can fix?

    If necessary, I can supply my "smb.conf" file, but nothing has changed between when it worked and now.
    Steve Coleman
    openSUSE LEAP 15
    openSUSE Tumbleweed

  2. #2

    Default Re: smb doesn't show workgroup

    Quote Originally Posted by evetsnameloc View Post
    Starting yesterday, I assume after some update, smb, or maybe kio_smb, started misbehaving.
    I suppose it would help to know *what* updates exactly you installed, and from what repo.

    There was no official update at all for kio_smb in Leap 42.3 so far, and the last update to samba was end of November/beginning of December...

    See the Extra->History menu item in YaST->Software Management, /var/log/zypp/history, or run "rpm -qa --last" (which will list all installed packages ordered by installation/update time).

    Now, when I enter "smb:/", an empty window appears.

    If I enter "smb://[computer name]", the shared folders in [computer name] appear and I can access them normally.
    Might be a network "problem" too I suppose, or on (one of) the other hosts.
    SMB is not really a reliable protocol IME, especially when it comes down to list all hosts in the network...

    Maybe run smbtree and see if that lists the other hosts.
    If not, it's definitely unrelated to KDE/Dolphin/kio_smb, and the error message you might get may help to provide a clue what's wrong too.
    Last edited by wolfi323; 09-Jan-2018 at 04:07.

  3. #3

    Default Re: smb doesn't show workgroup

    PS: the major recent updates were the security fixes for the SPECTRE and MELTDOWN vulnerabilities, and they did cause problems on some system (like applications crashing or even whole system freezes).

    So maybe try to boot an older kernel (4.4.103 or lower) too, by choosing "Advanced Options" in the boot menu.
    Although I doubt that they could cause a problem like you describe, but who knows... (it's easy to try anyway)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    793

    Default Re: smb doesn't show workgroup

    I just tried this on my TW system and too get the blank window using SMB:/ (which incidentally changes to SMB://). I ran smbtree and it lists the workgroup and hosts OK. I wonder if this is related to the bug which causes SMB4K to fail to list the hosts? Bug is https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1057148

    Stuart

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: smb doesn't show workgroup

    A few easy checks:

    Check that you have the lines in [GLOBAL] that define workgroup, netbios name, and (I suppose) server string.
    Check that nmb and smb daemons are still running e.g. command line:
    Code:
    systemctl status nmb.service
    and same for smb
    And does this define text version for the three levels beginning with workgroup:
    Code:
    smbtree -N
    Last edited by swerdna; 09-Jan-2018 at 05:39.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  6. #6

    Default Re: smb doesn't show workgroup

    Quote Originally Posted by broadstairs View Post
    I just tried this on my TW system and too get the blank window using SMB:/ (which incidentally changes to SMB://). I ran smbtree and it lists the workgroup and hosts OK. I wonder if this is related to the bug which causes SMB4K to fail to list the hosts? Bug is https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1057148
    Maybe.
    From a quick look at the source code, kio_smb seems to only use functions from libsmbclient and not run "net rap" or similar, but it might still be related.

    But, the OP uses 42.3 according to the subject. And it worked for him until 2 days ago.
    And it does work fine here on my fully up-to-date 42.3 system (I'm using the latest kio-extras5 17.12.0 from additional repos though).
    Last edited by wolfi323; 09-Jan-2018 at 05:49.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: smb doesn't show workgroup

    Quote Originally Posted by broadstairs View Post
    I just tried this on my TW system and too get the blank window using SMB:/ (which incidentally changes to SMB://). I ran smbtree and it lists the workgroup and hosts OK. I wonder if this is related to the bug which causes SMB4K to fail to list the hosts? Bug is https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1057148

    Stuart
    I had these sorts of bad behaviour in the early days of leap 42.3 but it sorted itself and behaved after a month or so. I haven't had problems since. And just to be sure I ran a Yast-based upgrade of RPMs just to catch any immediate changes, no problems. So maybe your TW problem is a TW problem, perhaps different from evetsnameloc's 42.3
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  8. #8

    Default Re: smb doesn't show workgroup

    PS, @broadstairs: Did you actually try the testing packages you were offered already?
    That bugreport is in NEEDINFO state since October, they are waiting for a report about your results it seems...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Royse City, TX
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: smb doesn't show workgroup

    Thanks for all the replies.

    Trying to pin down the problem some more --- I installed Leap 42.3 from the original installation files onto an unused partition. Before doing any updates I tried "smb:/" and it displayed the workgroup icon in the dolphin window as it did before.

    I then went to yast and updated the smb files to their latest versions, and surprisingly "smb:/" still worked. So it appears that the problem is not with smb but with some other packages that have been updated as well.

    Without going through and updating packages one-by-one, I have no idea how to trace the problem further.

    Just to clarify things that I didn't mention in the first post, this all involves Windows shares, some on a Windows 10 installation, some on Windows 7.

    I don't know if this helps any, but I also have a Windows 7 virtual machine (vmware) installed on Leap 42.3. When I open "Network" in the VM, all the computers in the workgroup appear normally.
    Steve Coleman
    openSUSE LEAP 15
    openSUSE Tumbleweed

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    793

    Default Re: smb doesn't show workgroup

    Quote Originally Posted by swerdna View Post
    I had these sorts of bad behaviour in the early days of leap 42.3 but it sorted itself and behaved after a month or so. I haven't had problems since. And just to be sure I ran a Yast-based upgrade of RPMs just to catch any immediate changes, no problems. So maybe your TW problem is a TW problem, perhaps different from evetsnameloc's 42.3
    No I only just noticed that when I went looking for the bug #, must have missed it somehow. I'll take a look this week and see if I can try the fix out.

    Stuart

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •