Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Why would a machine have two NICs?

  1. #1

    Default Why would a machine have two NICs?

    Just was wondering, but why would a machine, such as one running OpenSuSE have two Network Interface cards?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Why would a machine have two NICs?

    There are a lot of reasons to have multiple NICs:

    Increased throughput via bonding
    Access to different physical (or virtual) networks for different types of
    traffic
    Internal stuff
    Storage stuff (iSCSI or FCoE)
    Public stuff
    Backup stuff
    To act as a router or otherwise connect different networks
    To access different types of media (wires vs. wireless signals)

    --
    Good luck.

    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    show your appreciation and click on the star below.

    If you want to send me a private message, please let me know in the
    forum as I do not use the web interface often.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,325
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Why would a machine have two NICs?

    Hi
    Used as a firewall, squid proxy, router etc. One for local network, one for a management network. It could be a LoM (Lights out Management) interface.

    My desktop has three NIC's and a wireless card the NIC's are bridged for my KVM virtual machines.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,325
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Why would a machine have two NICs?

    Hi
    It could also be a faster network card eg 1000Mbit instead of a 100Mbit...
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    13,295
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Why would a machine have two NICs?

    Previous posts described many good reasons,
    You might also consider that a typical laptop has two built-in NICs for obvious reasons (wired and wireless). Although a typical User would only use one at a time, it's possible to make use of both when configured properly (often wrongly).
    Also consider when someone connects directly to another computing device, like a phone. The connection between the PC and the phone is a connection which might be serial or BT, and if you look closely sometimes you'll find ethernet running on top of the stated protocol.

    Probably the main thing to remember is when you use more than one NIC improperly...
    - When both NICs are connected to the same network, but not configured for bonding. Some might think it improves throughput, without bonding it doesn't and actually will cause degradation.

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,567

    Default Re: Why would a machine have two NICs?

    Quote Originally Posted by ab View Post
    To act as a router or otherwise connect different networks
    The openSUSE Firewall has the typical (per NIC) Use-Cases for this: "External Zone"; "Internal Zone"; "Demilitarized Zone (DMZ)".

    Where, a DMZ is used for machines which need to provide services [Web Servers are a typical example] to the "External Zone" (i.e "the Internet" or, a "WAN") but, cannot themselves access the "Internal Zone" (usually, the local LAN).

    The decision which needs to be made is, buy a couple of NAT (Network Address Translation) Routers or, use a couple of "to be retired" machines with (at least) two NICs? The network management effort required to set-up and maintain the access policies is about the same for both cases but, the machines with two NICs may offer more flexibility.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,761

    Default Re: Why would a machine have two NICs?

    I remember two systems running in a hot switch over configuration. There was a crossover ethernet between the two for the heartbeat.

    Just to point to yet another use case.

    I remember also an application where the application server used a database server. Connecetion again betwenn dedicated ethernet connections on both machines with a crossover cable.
    Last edited by hcvv; 03-Jan-2018 at 11:21.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,029

    Default Re: Why would a machine have two NICs?

    I have one of my main machines set up with a Gigabit NIC on ethernet and 3 wireless adapters.

    I have a friend who lives here whom I set up with openSUSE, and we share the high speed internet.

    I have several neighbours who I have set up running openSUSE, two of whom are non-tech and not interested in learning, so have me administering their machines, and who live within wifi signal range, both on their own internet connections.

    On the internet I share with my friend, I have set the modem/router into bridge mode and turned off the wireless signal. I have lent my friend one of my routers and I am using a separate router. This keeps his network and his Facebook garbage, et al, isolated from my own network for obvious reasons.

    On administration/tech day once a week, I:
    • Run zypper up on this machine;
    • Connect to my other machines through ethernet using SSH and simultaneously run zypper up on all of my machines;
    • Simultaneously connect wireless to the router I lent my friend and run zypper up on his machine;
    • Simultaneously connect my other two wireless routers to the two neighbours' routers and run
      Code:
      nmap -sn xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/xx
      to see if their machines are turned on and connected. If so, I use SSH to run zypper up on their machines.


    Slick, convenient, and quick.

    Just one of many ways to put multiple NICs to use, as you have read by now.
    "Take a Walk on a Sunny Day, Greet everyone along the way, and Make Somebody Smile, Today"
    Gerry Jack Macks"Walk On A Sunny Day" GerryJackMacks.net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •