Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: open file via terminal

Default open file via terminal

I am very sorry for this question, I already feel so stupid...

I'm new to using a terminal (instead of dolphin ) and all I wanna do is open a file using Konsole - so I'm in the right directory and when I type "dir" the file I want is listed. So I thought the command to opening it was "open filename" but all I get is "If 'open' is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it".
    So what must I actually do? Or is it supposed to work this way?

Thanks a lot!

Blog Entries

Default Re: open file via terminal

Hi
    That depends on what the file is.... for example if you want to open a text file then it's the apllication then the filename, eg;
    Code:
    kedit somefile.txt
    Say a jpg file to edit with gimp;
    Code:
    gimp somepic.jpg
    So it's the application to run then the filename. You need to know this first....

<some_application> <some_filename>

With the desktop GUI application it will have the file mime type stored, so it knows what application to open with what file.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

To list files, use
    Code:
    ls
    To see the contents of a text file, use
    Code:
    less <filename>
    To run a program, just enter the program name followed by any file you want it to open, for example,
    Code:
    nano mytextfile.txt

use the app you want to open the file with with. File associations are part of the GUI not the command line.

Blog Entries

The previous posts are all true, but to apply them specifically to your question
    If your console prompt is in the location where your file is,
    Code:
    konsole filename