open file via terminal

I am very sorry for this question, I already feel so stupid…

I’m new to using a terminal (instead of dolphin :D) and all I wanna do is open a file using Konsole - so I’m in the right directory and when I type “dir” the file I want is listed. So I thought the command to opening it was “open filename” but all I get is “If ‘open’ is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it”.
So what must I actually do? Or is it supposed to work this way?

Thanks a lot!

Hi
That depends on what the file is… for example if you want to open a text file then it’s the apllication then the filename, eg;

kedit somefile.txt

Say a jpg file to edit with gimp;

gimp somepic.jpg

So it’s the application to run then the filename. You need to know this first…

<some_application> <some_filename>

With the desktop GUI application it will have the file mime type stored, so it knows what application to open with what file.

To list files, use

ls

To see the contents of a text file, use

less <filename>

To run a program, just enter the program name followed by any file you want it to open, for example,

nano mytextfile.txt

use the app you want to open the file with with. File associations are part of the GUI not the command line.

The previous posts are all true, but to apply them specifically to your question
If your console prompt is in the location where your file is,

konsole *filename *

Else, you have to describe the path (full or relative) to your file as part of the filename.
For example, no matter where your console prompt might be, the following will open a file in your Documents directory where “user” is your Username

konsole /home/*user*/Documents/*filename* 

HTH,
TSU

Thank you so so much!

Now how do I find out what command to use in order to avoid asking questions like this again? Of course I tried google but I obviously failed :smiley: