Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: radeon drive issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Chennai, TN, India
    Posts
    76

    Default radeon drive issue

    I was facing this issue after upgrade from 42.2 to 42.3. After the latest update of the system, I'm facing a new issue in radeon drive. I'm getting the following error mesage:
    Code:
    [      3.045230] radeon 0000:00:01.0: radeon_vce: Can't load firmware "radeon/BONAIRE_vce.bin. : failed VCE (-2) init.  [     3.045232] radeon 0000:00:01.0: failed VCE (-2) init.

    Please find output of
    Code:
    mkinitrd
    at https://paste.opensuse.org/18833184


    I did force installation of
    Code:
    sudo zypper in -f kernel-firmware
    but with no success. Please find the output at https://paste.opensuse.org/87979543


    How can I install missing firmware's? Will installing amdgpu kmp and a later version of xf86-video-amdgpu solve the issue? If so, please let me know the steps to install them.

    Please find Xorg log in https://paste.opensuse.org/80911205

    Read in other forums for this issue - Your simplest and solution will be to use menuconfig (never manually edit the kernel .conf) to set AMDGPU to module and rebuild your kernel. As it is the card cannot load the firmware so naturally it isn't working.Should I update menuconfig?


    Many Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,288

    Default Re: radeon drive issue

    You did not mention which card

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Chennai, TN, India
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: radeon drive issue

    Please find the card details:
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 VGA
    00:01.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kabini [Radeon HD 8400 / R3 Series] [1002:9830]
            Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:8623]
            Kernel modules: radeon
    00:01.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio [1002:9840]
    
    

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,357
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: radeon drive issue

    On Sun 10 Dec 2017 04:26:01 PM CST, linlen wrote:

    Please find the card details:
    Code:
    --------------------
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 VGA
    00:01.0 *VGA* compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices,
    Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kabini [Radeon HD 8400 / R3 Series] [1002:9830]
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:8623] Kernel modules:
    radeon 00:01.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio [1002:9840]

    --------------------


    Hi
    If you uninstall the package drm-kmp-default should get you back to the
    radeon driver as it may be fighting with the amdgpu one.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE Leap 42.2|GNOME 3.20.2|4.4.92-18.36-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Chennai, TN, India
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: radeon drive issue

    As per your advice, uninstalled drm-kmp-default and restarted the system. Now facing a new issue
    Code:
    [        2.929259] radeon: radeon_uvd: Can't load firmware "radeon/BONAIRE_uvd.bin"                  [            2.929279] radeon_vce: Can't load firmware "radeon/BONAIRE_vce.bin"                                                   [     2.952168] radeon: VCE init error (-22).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,357
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: radeon drive issue

    Quote Originally Posted by linlen View Post
    As per your advice, uninstalled drm-kmp-default and restarted the system. Now facing a new issue
    Code:
    [        2.929259] radeon: radeon_uvd: Can't load firmware "radeon/BONAIRE_uvd.bin"                  [            2.929279] radeon_vce: Can't load firmware "radeon/BONAIRE_vce.bin"                                                   [     2.952168] radeon: VCE init error (-22).
    Hi
    Is the kernel-firmware package installed? If not install this

    If you look in the directory is the file there;
    Code:
    ls /lib/firmware/radeon/
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Chennai, TN, India
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: radeon drive issue

    Yes, the file is there. But it was not loaded as you can see it here. https://paste.opensuse.org/87979543

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,357
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: radeon drive issue

    Quote Originally Posted by linlen View Post
    Yes, the file is there. But it was not loaded as you can see it here. https://paste.opensuse.org/87979543
    Hi
    If you force the re-install of the firmware package and also make sure the system is all up to date;
    Code:
    zypper ref
    zypper in -f kernel-firmware
    zypper up
    zypper up -t patch
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Chennai, TN, India
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: radeon drive issue

    I did the same and restarted the system.No change. Please find the details at https://paste.opensuse.org/11025792

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,357
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: radeon drive issue

    Quote Originally Posted by linlen View Post
    I did the same. Please find the details at https://paste.opensuse.org/11025792
    Hi
    So really looks like a bug....

    Please create a bugzilla against Base:System ( this is where dracut is maintained) and attach that last output as an attachment to the bug report;

    openSUSE:Submitting bug reports - openSUSE

    Please post back the bug reference as well
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •