Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Boot only whit cdrom

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    Quote Originally Posted by jdd View Post
    yes. Change anything and save.

    check what grub version is used

    jdd
    I tried to do a new install, this time using the whole hd.
    Now bios does not find grub and does not start
    I've tried installing 3 more times and it always gives the same problem
    It seems that I lost this notebook

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Toulouse
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    do not stop too fast :-)

    First I do not understand yet if you install using grub or grub-efi. When you boot the cd, boot on "rescue". log a root (no passwd).

    fdisk -l will show you what partition are on the disk and if it's GPT or MSDOS

    say so here, and stop reinstalling :-)

    UEFI install and MSDOS install do not boot at all the same

    jdd

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    Yast -> System -> Boot Loader

    http://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/c41c67af
    There are several options. Which one should I use?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,146

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    There are several options. Which one should I use?
    First you need to answer jdd's question (#12) as to whether you are using grub or grub-efi. It's difficult to advise when we are unsure of exactly what you are doing.
    Regards, Paul

    Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20190721) KDE Plasma 5
    Leap 15.0 KDE Plasma 5
    [Non-Tumbling Tumblweed (20150508) KDE 4 - Resurrected]

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    First you need to answer jdd's question (#12) as to whether you are using grub or grub-efi. It's difficult to advise when we are unsure of exactly what you are doing.
    Where do I find this information?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,590

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    Yast-system - boot loader

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Yast-system - boot loader
    There is enabled the option "GRUB2"

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    Quote Originally Posted by jdd View Post
    do not stop too fast :-)

    First I do not understand yet if you install using grub or grub-efi. When you boot the cd, boot on "rescue". log a root (no passwd).

    fdisk -l will show you what partition are on the disk and if it's GPT or MSDOS

    say so here, and stop reinstalling :-)

    UEFI install and MSDOS install do not boot at all the same

    jdd
    Code:
    LANG=en fdisk -l
    Disk /dev/sda: 298.1 GiB, 320072933376 bytes, 625142448 sectors
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disklabel type: gpt
    Disk identifier: 3B8CE02E-D9C8-4C0E-9577-CE6D9CAB2655
    
    Device         Start       End   Sectors  Size Type
    /dev/sda1       2048  46139391  46137344   22G Microsoft basic data
    /dev/sda2   46139392 255850495 209711104  100G Microsoft basic data
    /dev/sda3  255850496 272623615  16773120    8G Microsoft basic data
    /dev/sda4  272623616 274726911   2103296    1G Microsoft basic data
    /dev/sda5  274726912 275048447    321536  157M EFI System
    /dev/sda6  275048448 358940671  83892224   40G Microsoft basic data
    /dev/sda7  358940672 625141759 266201088  127G Microsoft basic data

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,590

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    There is enabled the option "GRUB2"
    Then you are booting Linux using MBR not EFI

    TO change in Yast Partitioning set the /dev/sda5 EFI System to mount as /boot/efi in Yast -system boot loader change to grub2-efi save change and reboot

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: Boot only whit cdrom

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Then you are booting Linux using MBR not EFI

    TO change in Yast Partitioning set the /dev/sda5 EFI System to mount as /boot/efi in Yast -system boot loader change to grub2-efi save change and reboot
    I did the "/boot/rfi" assembly and it was ok
    In the Yast -> System -> Boot Loader
    I change to "grub2 for efi" But when I try to save the configuration
    It comes with this error message below


    That's is my fstab

    UUID=1492-850F /boot/efi vfat umask=0002,utf8=true 0 0

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •