Installation of LAMP on Leap 42.3, Gnome Desktop.

Hi all,

Trying to install ‘cubecart’ an e-commerce application. Requires LAMP. While installing LAMP with help of an article from TechRepublic which explains installation on openSUSE Leap. It installs ‘appache2’ first and after installing, setting it up and testing, it goes on to install ‘mariadb’ which is a substitute for ‘mysql’. In the old days when I first took fancy to ‘linux’ from LSF & BLFS, there used to be a separate package ‘mysql’. But it seems openSUSE has gone on to ‘mariadb’ substitution. I am not an expert to ask why. I am sure the planners must have a reason for it.
Then other packages required are installed: php5, php5-mysql & apache2-mod_php5.
My problem is that the youtube demo (by linuxhelp.com) for installation of ‘cubecart’ requires the good old mysql prompt. For example:

root@linuxhelp:# mysql -u root -p
Enter Password
(Some lines)
mysql>

With ‘mariadb’ substitution an empty database is already created by the name of ‘mariadb’. But ‘linuxhelp.com’ would work with a different database named ‘cubecart’ which is created by the following code:

mysql> create database cubecart;
Query OK 1 row affected (0.05 sec)

mysql>

And the demo keeps working with ‘mysql>’ prompt throughout. But with ‘mariadb’, I do not get this prompt.

I do not know how to get and install ‘pure’ mysql. If I install it from sources, will it fit into the LAMP configuration?

Guidance shall be most appreciated.

Regards,

RSP2

You don’t need to install MySQL for Cubecart to work, MariaDB is a 100% compatible substitute.

Here is an example of how to create a database, user and start the Cubecart setup:

mysql -u root -p
create database cubecart;
grant all privileges on cubecart.* TO 'cooluser'@'localhost' identified by 'coolpassword';
flush privileges;
exit

As you can imagine, you need to change cooluser to something sensible and password to something you remember, these will be used during the Cubecart installation.