Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39

Thread: firefox print dialog show all network printers

  1. #21

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    On 10/21/2017 05:16 AM, hcvv wrote:
    > deano_ferrari;2842469 Wrote:
    >> or disable it from the CLI with

    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > > > systemctl disable avahi-daemon

    > --------------------
    > Yes of course, but the advantage of YaST is that you then can easily
    > find the correct name of the service, where with the CLI you have to
    > know if it is avahidaemon, avahi-daemon, AvahiDaemon or other.


    Code:
    -------------------
    systemctl disable avah<tab><tab>
    -------------------

    Will show the different options available. systemctl is tab aware which
    helps when you're not sure.

    --
    Ken
    linux since 1994
    S.u.S.E./openSUSE since 1996

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,270

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    Quote Originally Posted by kensch View Post
    Will show the different options available. systemctl is tab aware which
    helps when you're not sure.
    To avoid that people might believe in magic, it is not so much systemctl that is tab aware (as long as you are composing your command in the shell, systemctl is not involved, only bash "sees" what you are doing), but the systemd project offers a file in it's package that has a definition that bash uses on tab completion
    Code:
    /usr/share/bash-completion/completions/systemctl
    So it is systemd/systemctl that defines it and bash that is tab completion aware.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,576
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    Quote Originally Posted by pier_andreit View Post
    ...Have I to re-enable the
    Code:
    BrowseRemoteProtocols DNSSD
    in /etc/cups/cups-browsed.conf ????
    Well now that you have disabled avahi completely, it won't be used fro CUPS discovery either, so your choice now.

  4. #24

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Well now that you have disabled avahi completely, it won't be used fro CUPS discovery either, so your choice now.
    yes manythanks, if I'll need I'll re-enable if I'll remember .

    ...but why only firefox and gimp are affected by this "bug" and okular and libreoffice not?? also they use cups, or not??

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,576
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    Quote Originally Posted by pier_andreit View Post
    yes manythanks, if I'll need I'll re-enable if I'll remember .

    ...but why only firefox and gimp are affected by this "bug" and okular and libreoffice not?? also they use cups, or not??
    AFAIU, I think later versions of Qt are gaining a similar mechanism for discovering 'bonjour' printers. If avahi and cups-browsed are active then they will appear as well of course.

    FWIW, I have avahi enabled (along with cups-browsed), and it all just works for me, but I know others prefer just to have the explicitly configured printers to choose from in the print dialogue. I don't have an environment with lots of other 'unwanted' printers around.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,576
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    If avahi and cups-browsed are active then they will appear as well of course.
    Not to confuse you, but cups-browsed only applies to CUPS servers broadcasting shared printers as opposed to 'bonjour' network printer discovery.

  7. #27

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    manythanks and yes, disabling avahi-daemon it works also in the LAN with a lot of printers.
    ...but, what is the benefit to have not configured printers in the print dialog box if you cannot use printers if are not configured with a driver??

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,576
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    Quote Originally Posted by pier_andreit View Post
    manythanks and yes, disabling avahi-daemon it works also in the LAN with a lot of printers.
    ...but, what is the benefit to have not configured printers in the print dialog box if you cannot use printers if are not configured with a driver??
    I agree that it doesn't make sense in this context (not configured) network printers, and for shared CUPS servers it really duplicates the function of cups-browsed anyway. For those that do want to keep avahi (eg for .local name resolution), then editing /etc/avahi/avahi-daemon.conf and adding 'enable-dbus=no' in the [server] section, then restarting the avahi-daemon service is probably the way to go. Ultimately, it would be nice if avahi-deamon could be configured to ignore network printer discovery explicitly while still discovering other services perhaps.

  9. #29

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    I agree that it doesn't make sense in this context (not configured) network printers, and for shared CUPS servers it really duplicates the function of cups-browsed anyway. For those that do want to keep avahi (eg for .local name resolution), then editing /etc/avahi/avahi-daemon.conf and adding 'enable-dbus=no' in the [server] section, then restarting the avahi-daemon service is probably the way to go. Ultimately, it would be nice if avahi-deamon could be configured to ignore network printer discovery explicitly while still discovering other services perhaps.
    my [server] section of my /etc/avahi/avahi-daemon.conf is:
    Code:
    [server]
    #host-name=foo
    #domain-name=local
    #browse-domains=0pointer.de, zeroconf.org
    use-ipv4=yes
    use-ipv6=yes
    #allow-interfaces=eth0
    #deny-interfaces=eth1
    #check-response-ttl=no
    #use-iff-running=no
    #enable-dbus=yes
    #disallow-other-stacks=no
    #allow-point-to-point=no
    #cache-entries-max=4096
    #clients-max=4096
    #objects-per-client-max=1024
    #entries-per-entry-group-max=32
    ratelimit-interval-usec=1000000
    ratelimit-burst=1000
    and as enable-dbus=yes is commented it seems that enable-dbus=no should be default, or it need to be explicit #enable-dbus=no???

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,576
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: firefox print dialog show all network printers

    Quote Originally Posted by pier_andreit View Post
    my [server] section of my /etc/avahi/avahi-daemon.conf is:...

    and as enable-dbus=yes is commented it seems that enable-dbus=no should be default, or it need to be explicit #enable-dbus=no???
    No it is enabled by default. (Try it for yourself with avahi-daemon running.)

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •