Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

  1. #1

    Default klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    What in the world is this? It has been several years since I have used KDE, but I don't remember getting this kind of issue ever. Not that there were rolling release distros back then. I always had to install/upgrade by CD and compile-from-source for apps where I needed to use the latest.

    This is the full error:
    Unable to create io-slave. klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so


    This message appeared after I updated earlier today. I rebooted my laptop after the update was done since I was also trying to fix the laptop screen brightness and had to change the kernel boot params. Then bam!

    Ok a little background. New install. Just over the past weekend. I'm using Tumbleweed 20171007. Well, originally it was a Leap 42.3 install. By mistake. I intended to install TW and downloaded Leap instead. Silly me. And since it's almost a 5GB download, I wanted to avoid another one. I learned that Leap can be easily switched to TW, and vice-versa. So that's what I did. Previous update didn't cause any issues.

    Thanks,
    JA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,033

    Default Re: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    Quote Originally Posted by joeangkel View Post
    This message appeared after I updated earlier today.
    How did you perform the update?

    I learned that Leap can be easily switched to TW, and vice-versa. So that's what I did.
    What repositories have you currently enabled?

    Code:
    sudo zypper lr -u
    Regards, Paul

  3. #3

    Default Re: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    UPDATE: After searching for answers last night I stumbled upon something where it mentioned that it was am incompatible libmodman package that was installed on the system that was causing havoc. So I gave it a shot with this package - http://download.opensuse.org/tumblew...7.9.x86_64.rpm. Note to others who encounter the same problem as I did and want to try this out: the link above can change all the time due to version changes. The one I had on my system, assuming it was from after that stupid update, was libmodman1-2.0.1-18.*

    Thankfully it did fix my issue and my desktop is now back to normal. This might be a temporary fix. I don't know what package dependencies were broken after I forced the libmodman package to another version. It's a minor version change only so I hope this does not break a lot of things. Except that now I have noticed that I am getting a couple of errors when I open Yast Package Manager. These errors were not there before.

    Hi tannington,

    To answer your questions:
    1) The update was performed from the Software Updates applet located @ the system tray. The update successfully finished and there were no error messages. On next reboot all hell broke loose.
    2) I have the following in my /etc/zypp/repos.d dir:
    [home_paulcarroty]
    name=My personal projects (openSUSE_Tumbleweed)
    enabled=1
    autorefresh=0
    baseurl=http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/paulcarroty/openSUSE_Tumbleweed/
    type=rpm-md
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/paulcarroty/openSUSE_Tumbleweed/repodata/repomd.xml.key

    [repo-debug]
    enabled=1
    autorefresh=1
    baseurl=http://download.opensuse.org/tumbleweed/repo/debug
    type=yast2

    [repo-non-oss]
    enabled=1
    autorefresh=1
    baseurl=http://download.opensuse.org/tumbleweed/repo/non-oss
    type=yast2

    [repo-oss]
    enabled=1
    autorefresh=1
    baseurl=http://download.opensuse.org/tumbleweed/repo/oss
    type=yast2

    [repo-update]
    enabled=1
    autorefresh=1
    baseurl=http://download.opensuse.org/update/tumbleweed/
    type=rpm-md
    *Ignore the Paul Carroty repo. I wanted to try out FF Quantum.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,033

    Default Re: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    Quote Originally Posted by joeangkel View Post
    1) The update was performed from the Software Updates applet located @ the system tray. The update successfully finished and there were no error messages. On next reboot all hell broke loose.
    With Tumbleweed the only recommended way to perform an update is to log out from any desktop environment, then from a virtual terminal use "zypper dup", updates by any other method *may* fail. There are numerous threads on these forums explaining the reasons...

    I have the following in my /etc/zypp/repos.d dir:
    All just fine, I was unsure what you may have had enabled.

    It would be a good idea to perform a "zypper dup" to ensure that you have all of the correct packages, (simply doing that may have solved your original problem).

    Update announcements for TW are posted on the "Factory" mailing list https://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-factory/
    Regards, Paul

  5. #5

    Default Re: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    Thank you for the advice. Appreciate it.

    With Tumbleweed the only recommended way to perform an update is to log out from any desktop environment, then from a virtual terminal use "zypper dup", updates by any other method *may* fail. There are numerous threads on these forums explaining the reasons...
    Seriously? I don't get it. Lol! Is this common for rolling release distros? For Arch is it the same way?

    All just fine, I was unsure what you may have had enabled.
    I looked these up thoroughly before I made the repo switch. Almost a lot of people said the same thing that these 4 repos should be enough to switch from Leap to TW. I'll probably give it another `zypper dup` today like you said. Or since it is still a fairly new install, I could just be patient and download the correct image for TW and reinstall from scratch.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    With these repos a 'zypper dup' should bring things back to normal
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,033

    Default Re: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    Quote Originally Posted by joeangkel View Post
    Seriously?
    Yes ...

    "zypper dup", or as you may see advised "zypper dup --no-allow-vendor-change" (the "--no-allow-vendor-change" has recently became a default so only "zypper dup" needed now), is the only way to go. Using YAST, the Update Applet, or a "zypper up" will, at some point result in a broken system.

    (Whilst you can issue "zypper dup" from KDE's konsole (or Gnomes equivalent) within a running x session it is safer to execute from a virtual terminal.)


    Is this common for rolling release distros? For Arch is it the same way?
    Sorry, don't know, on both counts. TW is the only rolling release I've used, perhaps others will chime in.
    Regards, Paul

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,286

    Default Re: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    Different distros use different update methods. I doubt that Arch uses zypper

  9. #9

    Default Re: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    Thanks guys! Appreciate the help. It's okay now. Honestly, this is so inconvenient having to logout and update because updating by any other means is "broken". Those nice GUIs are all for nothing I suppose.


    What would be the LTS equivalent for opensuse? It would be Leap, yes? I think I don't really need bleeding edge. I just want an updated browser (FF). And play video/audio files. Netflix of course. And so far FF fails to do so even if the version I have is 56. Could be I have to change some other settings even if DRM is already enabled. Just didn't bother to tinker around and switched to Chrome. Would love to use less of Chrome.


    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Different distros use different update methods. I doubt that Arch uses zypper
    It was more of a rhetorical question. I'm aware that distros have different update methods.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,033

    Default Re: klauncher said: Error loading '/usr/lib64/qt5/plugins/kf5/kio/destop.so

    Quote Originally Posted by joeangkel View Post
    Thanks guys! Appreciate the help. It's okay now. Honestly, this is so inconvenient having to logout and update because updating by any other means is "broken". Those nice GUIs are all for nothing I suppose.
    Well... if you want to use Tumbleweed that's the way it is

    Each new snapshot issued is regarded as a "Distribution Upgrade". It's not a case of the GUI method being "broken", "zypper dup" from the command line is the (only correct) way to perform a distribution upgrade.


    What would be the LTS equivalent for opensuse? It would be Leap, yes? I think I don't really need bleeding edge.
    Leap, the new name for "openSUSE", has a lifetime of 36 months for each major release. Lifetimes are detailed here: https://en.opensuse.org/Lifetime

    I just want an updated browser (FF). And play video/audio files. Netflix of course. And so far FF fails to do so even if the version I have is 56. Could be I have to change some other settings even if DRM is already enabled. Just didn't bother to tinker around and switched to Chrome. Would love to use less of Chrome.
    If you have problems with Firefox then that would probably be better addressed in a new thread. I'm currently using V56 on Tumbleweed and don't have any problems, but I don't use it for audio/video. Incidentally, as you may well know, the version of FF on Leap 42.3 is 52.4.0 LTS.
    Regards, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •