Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: No display showing after todays update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    793

    Default No display showing after todays update

    My KDE Plasma system will not boot to desktop unless I add nomodeset manually in grub. This is an AMD system with ATI graphics card and using default drivers (not proprietary). Without nomodeset I get a blanks (black) screen. Was working fine prior to updating today.

    Journal shows a message from drm sayng No UMS support in Radeon module.

    Obviously nomodeset gives rubbish screen resolution but at least system works.

    Anyone any ideas please?

    Stuart

  2. #2

    Default Re: No display showing after todays update

    Quote Originally Posted by broadstairs View Post
    Journal shows a message from drm sayng No UMS support in Radeon module.
    Yes, because radeon requires KMS, and nomodeset disables it.

    What does you /var/log/Xorg.0.log say if you boot without nomodeset?
    (if it's impossible to get at that because the system is not useable, reboot with nomodeset and post /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old)

    Does it work if you boot the previous kernel?

    There have not been any changes in the latest Tumbleweed snapshot that might cause this though, except for a kernel update but that was just a rebuild.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: No display showing after todays update

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    There have not been any changes in the latest Tumbleweed snapshot that might cause this though, except for a kernel update but that was just a rebuild.
    Right, so when did you last update your TW before the last one?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    793

    Default Re: No display showing after todays update

    Previous update was only a day or so ago. Booting with nomodeset it comes up but I am unable to run any gui in root mode because it says

    Code:
    krusader
    QStandardPaths: wrong ownership on runtime directory /run/user/1000, 1000 instead of 0
    Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyQXcbConnection: Could not connect to display :0
    so as yet not looked at xorg log. System is dual boot with an old 42.2 system so will boot that and look at the log. This system only has two kernels both 13 one 3.1 and 1.1 (I think).
    By KMS do you mean DKMS? which is installed.

    Stuart

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    793

    Default Re: No display showing after todays update

    Beginning to think I may have a hardware issue as the 42.2 system shows the same problem and that has not been updated for ages.

    Stuart

  6. #6

    Default Re: No display showing after todays update

    Quote Originally Posted by broadstairs View Post
    Previous update was only a day or so ago. Booting with nomodeset it comes up but I am unable to run any gui in root mode
    You don't need to run anything as root to get the Xorg.0.log...


    because it says

    Code:
    krusader
    QStandardPaths: wrong ownership on runtime directory /run/user/1000, 1000 instead of 0
    Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyQXcbConnection: Could not connect to display :0
    krusader also has a menu option to switch to root mode, so maybe try that.
    Or use "Konsole (Super User Mode)" (or run "su -" in a normal terminal window, which does the same).

    OTOH, running "xauth -b" (as user) might fix the "invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 key" problem too.

    so as yet not looked at xorg log. System is dual boot with an old 42.2 system so will boot that and look at the log. This system only has two kernels both 13 one 3.1 and 1.1 (I think).
    And did you try to boot the other kernel?

    But as apparently not even 42.2 works any more, it might indeed be a hardware problem I suppose.

    By KMS do you mean DKMS? which is installed.
    No, I mean Kernel Mode Setting, as opposed to the older User Mode Setting (UMS).
    "nomodeset" disables Kernel Mode Setting and switches to User Mode Setting, which is not supported by radeon or most other open source drivers.

    DKMS is something completely different, it automatically rebuilds 3rd party kernel modules after a kernel update.
    But that's irrelevant here as radeon is part of the standard kernel anyway.
    Last edited by wolfi323; 29-Sep-2017 at 07:21.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    793

    Default Re: No display showing after todays update

    Right now looked at the old Xorg.0.log from a failed boot without nomodeset. Only shows one error (EE) which says it cannot load fglrx which is correct as I dont use it and it's not installed. No other errors showing. Shows KMS enabled but then says Falling back to old probe method for modesetting. Also correctly identifies my CAICOS Radeon chipset.

    So dont know what to do now. Strange that the system was working fine until I did a zypper up this morning and rebooted to get this. There are only two versions of the kernel installed both 4.13, one is 3.3 and the other 1.1 (I think) and both fail.

    Stuart

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,352
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: No display showing after todays update

    Quote Originally Posted by broadstairs View Post
    Right now looked at the old Xorg.0.log from a failed boot without nomodeset. Only shows one error (EE) which says it cannot load fglrx which is correct as I dont use it and it's not installed. No other errors showing. Shows KMS enabled but then says Falling back to old probe method for modesetting. Also correctly identifies my CAICOS Radeon chipset.

    So dont know what to do now. Strange that the system was working fine until I did a zypper up this morning and rebooted to get this. There are only two versions of the kernel installed both 4.13, one is 3.3 and the other 1.1 (I think) and both fail.

    Stuart
    Hi
    So what does the output from the following show;
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk |grep -A3 VGA
    systool -vm radeon
    Just check the parameters section in the systoll command to see si and cik support are 0
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    793

    Default Re: No display showing after todays update

    The lspci shows

    Code:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Caicos [Radeon HD 6450/7450/8450 / R5 230 OEM] [1002:6779]
            Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:03da]
            Kernel modules: radeon
    01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Caicos HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6450 / 7450/8450/8490 OEM / R5 230/235/235X OEM] [1002:a...
    and systool

    Code:
    Error opening module radeon
    Stuart

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,352
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: No display showing after todays update

    Quote Originally Posted by broadstairs View Post
    The lspci shows

    Code:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Caicos [Radeon HD 6450/7450/8450 / R5 230 OEM] [1002:6779]
            Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:03da]
            Kernel modules: radeon
    01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Caicos HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6450 / 7450/8450/8490 OEM / R5 230/235/235X OEM] [1002:a...
    and systool

    Code:
    Error opening module radeon
    Stuart
    Hi
    You need to be root user for systool, be interesting to check all the parameters, boot from an older kernel 4.12? and see if the difference...
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •