Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Loosing multiscreen setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Broadway, UK
    Posts
    38

    Default Loosing multiscreen setup

    I'm on Tumbleweed after the last problems with getting my 4 screen setup working after an update. Radeaon R7 360 card running amdgpu driver is working fine on 4.12.7-1 setup but latest update installed 4.13.1-1 and on booting up it's stuck without any monitors, running 'defualt' instead, and showing the same display on a couple of the screens. Where do I go next to debug the problem or alternatively do i just give up on updates?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Loosing multiscreen setup

    Quote Originally Posted by lsces View Post
    I'm on Tumbleweed after the last problems with getting my 4 screen setup working after an update. Radeaon R7 360 card running amdgpu driver is working fine on 4.12.7-1 setup but latest update installed 4.13.1-1 and on booting up it's stuck without any monitors, running 'defualt' instead, and showing the same display on a couple of the screens. Where do I go next to debug the problem or alternatively do i just give up on updates?
    Did you install with the btrfs file system for your / partition? If so, you might be able to roll back to a prior snapshot at boot time.

    I set my system up to let me choose between multiple versions of the kernel: https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Keep_mul...ernel_versions
    It was simple. You might want to do something like that, since you have a more complex graphics setup that might not play nice with all new kernels. Keep a "last known good kernel" handy for this type of problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Broadway, UK
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: Loosing multiscreen setup

    Quote Originally Posted by andyprough View Post
    Did you install with the btrfs file system for your / partition? If so, you might be able to roll back to a prior snapshot at boot time.

    I set my system up to let me choose between multiple versions of the kernel: https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Keep_mul...ernel_versions
    It was simple. You might want to do something like that, since you have a more complex graphics setup that might not play nice with all new kernels. Keep a "last known good kernel" handy for this type of problem.
    I've got a couple of previous working kernels which is how I'm working at all. The particular annoying thing here is that years ago when I started running multiscreen everything was so much easier and just worked automatically. One could simply keep the hardware configuration across updates. Today not even a single screen setup can be maintained from one update to the next I've had to install dongles on every machine to get around the problems of my KVM system but today even with monitors plugged in direct I can't rely on the desktop opening the same when I have to reboot. In addition the extended boot time is bloody annoying! I used to be up in half a minute, now I can make a cup of tea while waiting ...

  4. #4

    Default Re: Loosing multiscreen setup

    Quote Originally Posted by lsces View Post
    I've got a couple of previous working kernels which is how I'm working at all. The particular annoying thing here is that years ago when I started running multiscreen everything was so much easier and just worked automatically. One could simply keep the hardware configuration across updates. Today not even a single screen setup can be maintained from one update to the next I've had to install dongles on every machine to get around the problems of my KVM system but today even with monitors plugged in direct I can't rely on the desktop opening the same when I have to reboot. In addition the extended boot time is bloody annoying! I used to be up in half a minute, now I can make a cup of tea while waiting ...
    I have the same problem with kernels, which is why I keep the archived kernel backups in the multiple version system. I think it's on Linus's side of things - drivers for a variety of hardware devices have bugs with different kernel versions. Some kernel versions I have excellent wifi, some not, some not even working USB. I don't tend to have graphics problems because I just use whatever Intel integrated graphics come with the cpu.

    You might want to try locking the kernel from updating, and only allow it to update with more mature versions of the kernel. Right now we're at 4.13.1-1, which is still early in this kernel cycle. Maybe let it get a bit more mature and let the kernel folks do more bugfixes and then pull it down after it gets to about 4.13.2 or later and try it.

    Do you know how to lock a piece of software from receiving updates? I do it in yast, although I know there's a zypper command for it. But in yast-software, search for "kernel", right click on the "kernel-default" package, and select "Protected - Do Not Modify". "zypper dup" will then work out the dependencies and run your software updates just fine, and will leave that package alone until you unlock it when you think Linus has the kernel a bit more mature.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,357
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Loosing multiscreen setup

    Quote Originally Posted by lsces View Post
    I'm on Tumbleweed after the last problems with getting my 4 screen setup working after an update. Radeaon R7 360 card running amdgpu driver is working fine on 4.12.7-1 setup but latest update installed 4.13.1-1 and on booting up it's stuck without any monitors, running 'defualt' instead, and showing the same display on a couple of the screens. Where do I go next to debug the problem or alternatively do i just give up on updates?
    Hi
    If you add the following options to grub kernel options via YaST bootloader do things come back to normal;
    Code:
    radeon.si_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Broadway, UK
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: Loosing multiscreen setup

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    If you add the following options to grub kernel options via YaST bootloader do things come back to normal;
    Code:
    radeon.si_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1
    No difference ...
    I had locked the kernel-default at 4.12.7-1, so reinstalled 4.13.3-1 which is now available, but it does not seem to be picking up the drivers to go with the graphics card. Checking in 'Hardware Information', the display section has no entry for 'driver' with 4.13.x kernels and just works 'default' 1280x1024 resolution single screen. Uninstall the 4.13.x kernal back to 4.12.7-1 and we are back in business with driver showing and amdgpu active. At this stage I've not checked if the radeon driver actually works but I'd previously pulled an nvidia card which had been running with 13.1 but I could not get working with a supported later install

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,357
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Loosing multiscreen setup

    On Thu 28 Sep 2017 09:16:01 AM CDT, lsces wrote:

    malcolmlewis;2839713 Wrote:
    > Hi
    > If you add the following options to grub kernel options via YaST
    > bootloader do things come back to normal;
    > >

    Code:
    --------------------
    > >

    > radeon.si_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1
    >

    --------------------
    > >

    No difference ...
    I had locked the kernel-default at 4.12.7-1, so reinstalled 4.13.3-1
    which is now available, but it does not seem to be picking up the
    drivers to go with the graphics card. Checking in 'Hardware
    Information', the display section has no entry for 'driver' with 4.13.x
    kernels and just works 'default' 1280x1024 resolution single screen.
    Uninstall the 4.13.x kernal back to 4.12.7-1 and we are back in business
    with driver showing and amdgpu active. At this stage I've not checked if
    the radeon driver actually works but I'd previously pulled an nvidia
    card which had been running with 13.1 but I could not get working with a
    supported later install


    Hi
    Can you confirm the card engineering name;
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk |grep -A3 VGA

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE Leap 42.2|GNOME 3.20.2|4.4.87-18.29-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Broadway, UK
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: Loosing multiscreen setup

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Can you confirm the card engineering name;
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk |grep -A3 VGA
    That gives ...
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] [1002:665f] (rev 81)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:0496]
    Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
    Kernel modules: radeon, amdgpu

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,357
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Loosing multiscreen setup

    Quote Originally Posted by lsces View Post
    That gives ...
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] [1002:665f] (rev 81)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:0496]
    Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
    Kernel modules: radeon, amdgpu
    Hi
    Hmmm, I can't see a Tabago card in my usual radeon references, I wonder if it's a CIK rather than SI, can you try the boot option;
    Code:
    amdgpu.si_support=0 amdgpu.cik_support=1
    It maybe interesting to see the "Parameters:" output in use for the 4.12 and 4.13 kernel with;
    Code:
    systool -vm amdgpu
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Broadway, UK
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: Loosing multiscreen setup

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Hmmm, I can't see a Tabago card in my usual radeon references, I wonder if it's a CIK rather than SI, can you try the boot option;
    Code:
    amdgpu.si_support=0 amdgpu.cik_support=1
    That seems to have done the job ... 4.13.3-1 running across all monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    It maybe interesting to see the "Parameters:" output in use for the 4.12 and 4.13 kernel with;
    Code:
    systool -vm amdgpu
    A number of differences in the Parameters section.

    Diffs in 4.13.3-1 ...
    Code:
        cik_support         = "1"
        job_hang_limit      = "0"
        lbpw                = "-1"
        si_support          = "0"
        vm_update_mode      = "-1"
        vram_page_split     = "512" ( 1024 on 4.12 )
    Same on 4.12
    Code:
      Parameters:
        aspm                = "-1"
        audio               = "-1"
        bapm                = "-1"
        benchmark           = "0"
        cg_mask             = "4294967295"
        cntl_sb_buf_per_se  = "0"
        deep_color          = "0"
        direct_gma_size     = "0"
        disable_cu          = "(null)"
        disp_priority       = "0"
        dpm                 = "-1"
        exp_hw_support      = "0"
        fw_load_type        = "-1"
        gartsize            = "-1"
        hw_i2c              = "0"
        ip_block_mask       = "4294967295"
        lockup_timeout      = "0"
        moverate            = "-1"
        msi                 = "-1"
        ngg                 = "0"
        no_evict            = "0"
        param_buf_per_se    = "0"
        pcie_gen2           = "-1"
        pcie_gen_cap        = "0"
        pcie_lane_cap       = "0"
        pg_mask             = "4294967295"
        pos_buf_per_se      = "0"
        ppfeaturemask       = "-1"
        prim_buf_per_se     = "0"
        runpm               = "-1"
        sched_hw_submission = "2"
        sched_jobs          = "32"
        test                = "0"
        virtual_display     = "(null)"
        vm_block_size       = "-1"
        vm_debug            = "0"
        vm_fault_stop       = "0"
        vm_size             = "-1"
        vram_page_split     = "1024"
        vramlimit           = "0"

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •