Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,844

    Default Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    Hi,

    As the title says. A long time ago it was possible to do this running qtconfig as root. Now it seem to have changed but after Save & Exit, and starting Yast, it sill use the 9 point (I think) default font.

    P.S: Also tried qtconfig as user, no dice.

    Is there any way I can do this?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,844

    Default Re: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    No ideas, anyone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,844

    Default Re: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    No ideas, anyone?
    Answer here: https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...91#post2561191

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,165

    Default Re: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    Does that method still work?

    This mailing list post https://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse/.../msg00232.html indicates that it's necessary to use "qt5ct" rather than "qtconfig"
    Regards, Paul

    Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20190814) KDE Plasma 5 ~~~
    Non-Tumbling Tumblweed (20150508) KDE 4 - Resurrected
    Leap 15.0 KDE Plasma 5 ~~~ Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5 (Work in progress...)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,844

    Default Re: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    Does that method still work?

    This mailing list post https://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse/.../msg00232.html indicates that it's necessary to use "qt5ct" rather than "qtconfig"
    Well, I logged as root (please don't kill me ) and changed fonts in qtconfig (or was systemsettings? I already forgot). Then logged back to my normal user and Yast fonts were larger. So I suppose it still does.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,844

    Default Re: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    ... running qtconfig as root.
    Actually I used su and qtconfig in a terminal, but IINM su does not use the full root environment, or something like that. So perhaps that was the problem.

    Anyway, it seems to be OK now - I'll be sure after I connect this box to the TV, were Yast fonts were incredibly tiny (old HD TV, cr*appy EDID, etc.)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,844

    Default Re: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    (or was systemsettings? I already forgot).
    Just remembered: it was.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,652

    Default Re: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    Well Yast runs under root and all root users settings are stored in /root (not the home directory) this includes all GUI settings. You can run systemsetting5 as root to set your GUI stuff for any program that runs as root. I change the colors so any program running as root looks different

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,844

    Default Re: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Well Yast runs under root and all root users settings are stored in /root (not the home directory) this includes all GUI settings. You can run systemsetting5 as root to set your GUI stuff for any program that runs as root. I change the colors so any program running as root looks different
    There's still nvidia-settings, that look like a qt application but doesn't change font size, and also firefox menus and tabs (gnome widgets maybe?) that are as small as yast's font was.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,652

    Default Re: Can't increase Yast fonts (KDE, qtconfig?)

    Point is that some display settings like desktop preferences settings are user defined and root is a user, just a very privileged one. So changing settings for a normal user or even for system does not change settings for the root user. The changes must be set in /root for the root user owned windows.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •