Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How can I uninstall an app without leaving traces?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Viçosa, Brasil
    Posts
    263

    Default How can I uninstall an app without leaving traces?

    Hi,

    How can I uninstall an app without leaving traces? I mean: months ago I have installed Geary mail, but I didn't like and remove it with zypper rm. But today, I decided to give another chance and I installed Geary again and the app opened with all my configurations ready, because of the last installation.

    So, the question is: how can I remove an application without traces? I want to remove all previous configurations and so one... Should I delete ./cache and others hidden folders in /home?

    Many thanks
    --
    Biostatistics and Data Science
    https://bio-data.github.io/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,788
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: How can I uninstall an app without leaving traces?

    I expect that the only traces left are in user settings.

    If you remove ".config" and ".cache" that will lose your settings for other software. Best it to just find the specific files for the software that you removed, and delete only those.

    I do occasionally make a fresh start. To do that, I logout of the desktop, and use CTRL-ALT-F1 to get to a terminal (or maybe I login to Icewm desktop). And then I remove
    .config .cache .local .gtk*
    and similar settings files and directories. Note that I keep ".mozilla" and some others.

    When I next login to a desktop, it is like login as a new user. And I have to configure my desktop all over. Because I keep ".mozilla", I don't lose my firefox settings.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Viçosa, Brasil
    Posts
    263

    Default Re: How can I uninstall an app without leaving traces?

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I expect that the only traces left are in user settings.

    If you remove ".config" and ".cache" that will lose your settings for other software. Best it to just find the specific files for the software that you removed, and delete only those.

    I do occasionally make a fresh start. To do that, I logout of the desktop, and use CTRL-ALT-F1 to get to a terminal (or maybe I login to Icewm desktop). And then I remove
    .config .cache .local .gtk*
    and similar settings files and directories. Note that I keep ".mozilla" and some others.

    When I next login to a desktop, it is like login as a new user. And I have to configure my desktop all over. Because I keep ".mozilla", I don't lose my firefox settings.
    Hmmm I see! I will do that right now! Many thanks
    --
    Biostatistics and Data Science
    https://bio-data.github.io/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •