Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post


    1) Is the "firewall disabled" info on VNC module relevant? I haven't installed a client in the other box yet (see below).

    2) Any way to fix this drop-to-terminal thing, or is it worth a bug report?

    3) Is there a better/safer way to set the server for LAN user, using another program, perhaps?

    oS 13.2 box:

    4) What client should I use? There are a number of clients in oS 13.2 repos, like GTK-vnc, novnc, etc. Or another one?

    Thanks,


    Bruno
    Even I face similar problem with VNC in my set up. I found following workaround

    1. Enable ssh service in your server machine and permit in the firewall.
    2. Using your client, login to server thr'
    Code:
    ssh user@server
    3. After successful login, type
    Code:
    vncserver
    .
    4. Prompt will show the port (5901 or 5902 or....)
    5. Using any of VNC viewer software, type
    Code:
    server:5901
    ..... U will be able to access server thru client.
    Shrivathsa Acharya
    Open SuSE Leap 42.3

    Intel Seventh Gen i5 Laptop with 4GB RAM & 1TB HDD
    Intel NUC with i3 4GB RAM & 320GB HDD (as my 24x7 server)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,656

    Default Re: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    1) Is the "firewall disabled" info on VNC module relevant?
    Not sure what you mean, but if you have firewall enabled and interface belongs to restricted zone, then port won't be opened for incoming connection. You can do it manually later of course. Sounds like a bug.

    Note that by default VNC server that is enabled will use public key authentication.

    2) Any way to fix this drop-to-terminal thing, or is it worth a bug report?
    I do not see it with lightdm and XFCE.

    3) Is there a better/safer way to set the server for LAN user, using another program, perhaps?
    SSH?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,714

    Default Re: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions

    Quote Originally Posted by arvidjaar View Post
    SSH?
    ... which, of course, is done using this method:
    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...47#post2838747
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  4. #14

    Default Re: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions

    I've also experienced this issue on multiple openSUSE Leap and Tumbleweed installs.

    The problem is...

    Whenever you enable remote access via Yast it crashes the xserver - this is a bug which needs fixing!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    9,461
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions

    Quote Originally Posted by kevtongue View Post
    I've also experienced this issue on multiple openSUSE Leap and Tumbleweed installs.

    The problem is...

    Whenever you enable remote access via Yast it crashes the xserver - this is a bug which needs fixing!
    You'll have to be very specific about how you're set up and invoke your VNC Server,
    When I review this Forum thread, I count <at least> 3 main ways described.
    Every described way can work, but if there is any problem, that problem will be unique to that specific setup.

    If your x server crashes, would it be because contention, ie an x server is already running using same resources when you invoke another?
    It's why in my posts, I described reading and following the Community Documentation, because when you install using the YaST Remote Administration module, it's a particular setup that sets up VNC in a specific way. If you then go your own way and do something that doesn't conflict, then it should still work... else... possible problems.

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  6. #16

    Default Re: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions

    What he means is that when you go into Yast and enable remote admin, then click ok (or whatever, I'm not going to try it again), your desktop immediately crashes, and you find yourself at run-level two (or three -- I didn't test my network).
    OpenSuse 15.0, Plasma 5.12.5
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H Mobo; 16G Ram
    Intel Core i5-4570 Processor (6M Cache, up to 3.60 GHz)

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    9,461
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions

    Quote Originally Posted by susesteve View Post
    What he means is that when you go into Yast and enable remote admin, then click ok (or whatever, I'm not going to try it again), your desktop immediately crashes, and you find yourself at run-level two (or three -- I didn't test my network).
    Never seen that, personally.
    Would likely be uniquely specific to a particular system which would make it difficult for others to help.
    Most likely if something caused something so major as a complete crash happens, then the User should boot up, and when a terminal console can be launched (can be a windowed console), run the following which will display the system log entries of the previous session just before the crash
    Code:
    journalctl -rb -1
    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,714

    Default Re: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions

    Quote Originally Posted by susesteve View Post
    What he means is that when you go into Yast and enable remote admin, then click ok (or whatever, I'm not going to try it again), your desktop immediately crashes, and you find yourself at run-level two (or three -- I didn't test my network).
    You need to change your Display Manager from SDDM. If using Plasma, install and switch to KDM.
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  9. #19

    Default Re: Yast Remote Admin (VNC) module - multiple issues/questions


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •