Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: No Audio

  1. #1

    Default No Audio

    Good day, I've installed OpenSUSE Tumbleweed not to long ago

    Everything seems to work just fine except from the sound output, for some strange reason I cannot seem to get any sound from the device. Although the volume mixer in the taskbask says it's output is on 91% and the output device is called dummy output.
    I stumbled uppon some older threads when searching for an answer, and I've generated this link to print the system information

    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=85...c98b3ffc63eda3

    Does somebody know what could be the problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: No Audio

    Unfortunately that link is broken. In the link the 'dots' were copied instead of the 'text' that the 'dots' represented. Please could you try reposting it again with all text ? I can then take a look at it to see if it yields some hints as to the problem.

    Thanks !

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: No Audio

    Thanks, I note an Aspire SW3-016 with an snd_soc_sst_bytcr_rt5640 sound module loaded, with pulse audio running. I confess this is the first I have heard of the snd_soc_sst_bytcr_rt5640 and I am amazed by the massive mixer selection.

    I do note thou in the mixer MANY of the playback options are OFF. Are they supposed to be off ? I ask that knowing nothing about your hardware. For example:
    Code:
    Simple mixer control 'Speaker Channel',0
      Capabilities: pswitch
      Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Mono:
      Front Left: Playback [off]
      Front Right: Playback [off]
    Simple mixer control 'Speaker L',0
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [off]
    Simple mixer control 'Speaker R',0
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [off]
    ...........
    There are also MANY more mixer settings off, and my not knowing (never seen before) a sound device like yours, I do not know which ones MUST be on and for which ones being ON or OFF does not matter.

    They can be turned on presumably with the application "alsamixer", or if necessary by command line using the application 'amixer' (which is a LOT more difficult as one must get the syntax perfectly correct).

    Do you need any help there wrt those apps ?

  5. #5

    Default Re: No Audio

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Thanks, I note an Aspire SW3-016 with an snd_soc_sst_bytcr_rt5640 sound module loaded, with pulse audio running. I confess this is the first I have heard of the snd_soc_sst_bytcr_rt5640 and I am amazed by the massive mixer selection.

    I do note thou in the mixer MANY of the playback options are OFF. Are they supposed to be off ? I ask that knowing nothing about your hardware. For example:
    Code:
    Simple mixer control 'Speaker Channel',0
      Capabilities: pswitch
      Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Mono:
      Front Left: Playback [off]
      Front Right: Playback [off]
    Simple mixer control 'Speaker L',0
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [off]
    Simple mixer control 'Speaker R',0
      Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Mono
      Mono: Playback [off]
    ...........
    There are also MANY more mixer settings off, and my not knowing (never seen before) a sound device like yours, I do not know which ones MUST be on and for which ones being ON or OFF does not matter.

    They can be turned on presumably with the application "alsamixer", or if necessary by command line using the application 'amixer' (which is a LOT more difficult as one must get the syntax perfectly correct).

    Do you need any help there wrt those apps ?
    That's actually quite weird to hear as you see the Acer aspire sw is just tablet computer and just like a phone has a build in video output device, it worked before when it did run on Windows 10 enterprise in the past

    If you could kinda exlain me about the alsamixer as when i type it for example in my program search bar as im on a KDE gui enviroment it doesn't show up, I thought I was missing something. So I thought why not so i tried
    zypper install alsamixer but it said it doesn't exist. When I tried typing alsamixer in the console it came up with a program with a black background where I can put in some settings but I have no idea where to go from there.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: No Audio

    Use a terminal ( Konsole ), then start alsamixer. Also, check in YaST whether HDMI or other has been recognized as the primary soundcard
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7

    Default Re: No Audio

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Use a terminal ( Konsole ), then start alsamixer. Also, check in YaST whether HDMI or other has been recognized as the primary soundcard

    The tablet computer only has a mini HDMI port on the left side but it's not in use and has never been used before, as far as I can tell the primary sound card is correct but I have no idea how to use alsamixer

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: No Audio

    Quote Originally Posted by Frontdesk View Post
    That's actually quite weird to hear as you see the Acer aspire sw is just tablet computer and just like a phone has a build in video output device
    I suppose its possible there is a bug on openSUSE and the wrong audio device loaded ? Truly the quantity of mixer settings in that script output are the largest I have ever seen.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frontdesk View Post
    If you could kinda exlain me about the alsamixer as when i type it for example in my program search bar as im on a KDE gui enviroment it doesn't show up, I thought I was missing something. So I thought why not so i tried
    zypper install alsamixer but it said it doesn't exist. When I tried typing alsamixer in the console it came up with a program with a black background where I can put in some settings but I have no idea where to go from there.
    Here is what I do (when looking for alsa mixer) in a konsole/xterm:
    Code:
    oldcpu@linux-os1a:~> whereis alsamixer
    alsamixer: /usr/bin/alsamixer /usr/share/man/man1/alsamixer.1.gz
    oldcpu@linux-os1a:~> rpm -qf /usr/bin/alsamixer
    alsa-utils-1.1.2-1.2.x86_64
    From that you can see alsamixer comes with the app 'alsa-utils'. Do you have alsa-utils installed ?
    .
    Last edited by oldcpu; 19-Sep-2017 at 06:46.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: No Audio

    Quote Originally Posted by Frontdesk View Post
    t I have no idea how to use alsamixer
    To use alsa mixer:


    • Open a terminal (ie konsole/xterm)
    • Enter "alsamixer" and press the Enter key.
    • You will now see a user interface. In this user interface, you can do the following:
      • Select your correct sound card using F6 and select F5 to see recording controls as well
      • Move around with left and right arrow keys.
      • Increase and decrease volume with up and down arrow keys.
      • Increase and decrease volume for left/right channel individually with "Q", "E", "Z", and "C" keys.
      • Mute/Unmute with the "M" key. An "MM" means muted, and "OO" means unmuted. Note that a bar can be 100% full but still be muted, so do check for this.
      • Exit from alsamixer with the Esc key.


  10. #10

    Default Re: No Audio

    Oke well now I have to check what to turn on and there is so many options

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •