Thread: Official Nvidia drivers with Prime

Default Official Nvidia drivers with Prime

Hello.

I'm not good with hardware but it came to my attention that the reason for me not being able to play games on Suse is the fact that I'm using my integrated Intel card instead of my Nvidia.
    I know I'm using Intel because I ran:
    Code:
    $ glxinfo | grep -i vendor
    server glx vendor string: SGI
    client glx vendor string: Mesa Project and SGI
        Vendor: Intel Open Source Technology Center (0x8086)
    OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
    So, I read that there has recently been released official Nvidia drivers in a repo.
    I installed them and everything is the same - OS still think I should use Intel instead of Nvidia (Windows somehow uses Nvidia I guess).
    I don't have any option in BIOS to choose the graphics card so I read and I found out about Prime being able to switch between cards.

I found this package, installed it and followed the instructions without installing mentioned Nvidia drivers (since I now have the official ones) from nvidia.ymp.
    But when I reboot, I have a black screen and in order to use Suse again I have to press ctrl+alt+F1 to log in without graphics, run command "prime-select intel" and reboot again.

Any idea how can I make Prime work with the official drivers and not the community ones from package's page?

Default Re: Official Nvidia drivers with Prime

No use the community drivers. First uninstall the regular driver

If this is a note book it probably an Optimus setup

Here is another option
    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:NVIDIA_Bumblebee

Hi, please be aware that suse-prime has not been updated for more than one year now and might not work with current Tumbleweed.
    You might also try dri-prime with the open source Nouveau driver, see hints in this thread https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...Optimus-laptop