Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

  1. #1

    Default Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    If I want to create a package that has a build dependency on a proprietary rpm file, how do I handle this in OBS? I made a workaround to repackage all files from the proprietary rpm (tared it, created a spec file and uploaded it into OBS) so that OBS was able to properly build my package.
    But this is not the way to go - how is it done properly?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,046

    Default Re: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    You build this RPM in your project; then it will be used for building other RPMs as well (as long as you name it in BuildRequires of course).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,917

    Default Re: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    Are you sure the proprietary software license allows redistribution (if you are using the public OBS, not a private instance)?

    They're pretty strict about not distributing any proprietary/binary blobs in OBS.
    .: miuku #suse @ irc.freenode.net
    .: https://build.opensuse.org/project/show/home:Miuku
    .: h​ttps://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Miuku/

  4. #4

    Default Re: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    I am using a private instance and have people for dealing with licensing stuff ^^

    But how do I "build the rpm in my project"? I have no sources, only their rpm file containing the shared libs and includes that my package depends on. Simply adding the rpm to the package does not help and adding the rpm to a new package having the same name does not work either.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    23,166
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    On Thu 07 Sep 2017 08:16:01 AM CDT, dsamx wrote:

    I am using a private instance and have people for dealing with licensing
    stuff ^^

    But how do I "build the rpm in my project"? I have no sources, only
    their rpm file containing the shared libs and includes that my package
    depends on. Simply adding the rpm to the package does not help and
    adding the rpm to a new package having the same name does not work
    either.


    Hi
    Just extract the rpm and add the shared libs (.so) and includes into a
    package called blah-devel then use these for the build.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE Leap 42.2|GNOME 3.20.2|4.4.79-18.26-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    17,074
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default Re: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Just extract the rpm and add the shared libs (.so) and includes into a
    package called blah-devel then use these for the build.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE Leap 42.2|GNOME 3.20.2|4.4.79-18.26-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!
    blah-devel, LMFO
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me kow why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7

    Default Re: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    I used this workaround already but it has two issues:
    - I have to recreate a package which costs time and introduces errors
    - The build service creates a repo of all built rpms and includes my package instead of the original one which I would not like to deliver

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    23,166
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    On Fri 08 Sep 2017 07:36:01 AM CDT, dsamx wrote:

    I used this workaround already but it has two issues:
    - I have to recreate a package which costs time and introduces errors
    - The build service creates a repo of all built rpms and includes my
    package instead of the original one which I would not like to deliver


    Hi
    Set that package to not publish.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE Leap 42.2|GNOME 3.20.2|4.4.79-18.26-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  9. #9

    Default Re: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    that prevents my own package to be delivered, but I'd like to use and publish the original package directly. Can this be achieved with obs? As in creating a new package that contains the rpm file already and does not require a build process.

    An alternative would probably be to add the rpms to the repository containing the rpms for the build environment and manually use repomd to create an additional repo containing all 3rd party rpms. But including the 3rd party stuff directly into one single repo created by obs would be much nicer.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    23,166
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Build dependency on proprietary rpm

    Quote Originally Posted by dsamx View Post
    that prevents my own package to be delivered, but I'd like to use and publish the original package directly. Can this be achieved with obs? As in creating a new package that contains the rpm file already and does not require a build process.

    An alternative would probably be to add the rpms to the repository containing the rpms for the build environment and manually use repomd to create an additional repo containing all 3rd party rpms. But including the 3rd party stuff directly into one single repo created by obs would be much nicer.
    Hi
    No, you would need to extract the third party rpm and create a new package/spec file etc, then build that so it just installs all the files.

    But at this point you could then split out and create a development package as well as a main package.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE Leap 42.2 (x86_64) GNOME 3.20.2
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •