Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: HP - Pavilion Laptop

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    The actual hardware info is BCM41142 802.11 bgm wifi M.2 Adapter using BCMWL63A driver. Not sure how any of those numbers line up with the link you gave me.

    Then there is still the problem of "WARNING: Network is currently handled by network manager or completely disabled. YaST is unable to configure some options" .
    YaST controlling the show.

    I re installed windows to get that info.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    19,888
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by gabbman View Post
    The actual hardware info is BCM41142 802.11 bgm wifi M.2 Adapter using BCMWL63A driver. Not sure how any of those numbers line up with the link you gave me.
    It's the chipset details that is relevant here, and your posted output shows 14e4:4365 which is supported by the proprietary broadcom wl driver. The packman repo contains these packages, so make sure you're subscribed to that and do

    Code:
    zypper in broadcom-wl broadcom-wl-kmp-default
    then reboot.

    Then there is still the problem of "WARNING: Network is currently handled by network manager or completely disabled. YaST is unable to configure some options" .
    If you're using NetworkManager there is no need to configure the device via YaST.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    It's the chipset details that is relevant here, and your posted output shows 14e4:4365 which is supported by the proprietary broadcom wl driver. The packman repo contains these packages, so make sure you're subscribed to that and do
    What is the correct way to add the packman repo please?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    19,888
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by gabbman View Post
    What is the correct way to add the packman repo please?
    https://en.opensuse.org/Additional_p...tories#Packman

    In particular for openSUSE 42.3....
    Code:
    zypper ar -f -n packman http://ftp.gwdg.de/pub/linux/misc/packman/suse/openSUSE_Leap_42.3/ packman

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    https://en.opensuse.org/Additional_p...tories#Packman

    In particular for openSUSE 42.3....
    Code:
    zypper ar -f -n packman http://ftp.gwdg.de/pub/linux/misc/packman/suse/openSUSE_Leap_42.3/ packman
    Thank You. I will report back tomorrow.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post


    If you're using NetworkManager there is no need to configure the device via YaST.
    I find nothing called the 'Network Manager'

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    19,888
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by gabbman View Post
    I find nothing called the 'Network Manager'
    Ok, report back with
    Code:
    systemctl status network
    YaST > System > Network Settings > Global Options, here you can set NetworkManager or wicked. I'd recommend that you explicitly set NetworkManager. Follow the prompts given.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    19,888
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    These may be useful to you as well....

    Configuring Global Network Options:
    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...netcard.global

    Network Manager Guide:
    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...ce/cha.nm.html

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Ok, report back with
    Code:
    systemctl status network
    Code:
    gord@linux-s8ig:~> systemctl status network
    ● NetworkManager.service - Network Manager
       Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
       Active: active (running) since Fri 2017-08-18 15:40:11 EDT; 5min ago
     Main PID: 1156 (NetworkManager)
        Tasks: 4 (limit: 512)
       CGroup: /system.slice/NetworkManager.service
               ├─1156 /usr/sbin/NetworkManager --no-daemon
               └─1866 /sbin/dhclient -d -q -sf /usr/lib/nm-dhcp-helper -pf /var/r...
    
    Warning: Journal has been rotated since unit was started. Log output is incomplete or unavailable.
    gord@linux-s8ig:~>
    YaST > System > Network Settings > Global Options, here you can set NetworkManager or wicked. I'd recommend that you explicitly set NetworkManager. Follow the prompts given.
    That is set and there are no prompts.

    And my gnome Network Connections dialog only shows Wired and Network Proxy

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    19,888
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HP - Pavilion Laptop

    Okay, that confirms NetworkManager.service is managing your connections, so I assume that you have the NetworkManager front-end (NetworkManager-gnome) installed as well. There should be a network icon for it, and when open it looks like this....

    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...c.nm.configure

    Did you get the broadcom packages installed?
    Code:
    zypper se -si broadcom-wl
    Is the wl module in use and a wireless device node exists now?
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/hwinfo --wlan
    Code:
    lsmod|grep wl
    Code:
    ip link
    If not, show us rfkill status
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/rfkill list
    *You may need to install rfkill first. If so, do
    Code:
    sudo zypper in rfkill
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 18-Aug-2017 at 13:16.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •