Selection of Cinnamon desktop with new installation

I downloaded the Tumbleweed DVD iso from:

https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Tumbleweed_installation

and assumed that I’d be able to select the Cinnamon desktop during installation, after reading the instructions under ‘One-click install’ at:

https://en.opensuse.org/Portal:Cinnamon

Not so, I guess. The install menu would have let me select Gnome, KDE, XFCE, etc., but not Cinnamon.

I’m new at openSUSE, and am not sure how to proceed. Is there an option to install Tumbleweed without a desktop, and then add Cinnamon afterward with zypper? My preference would be to download an ISO that already includes Cinnamon, if one is available.

Thanks for reading.

As you’ve discovered, Cinnamon is not listed as a Desktop option.

But,
You can try installing as an original Desktop(I haven’t tried this on TW, I’ve only tried on 42.3 and it fails at least today).

When you’re installing, select “Other” or “Custom” (Depending on the Installer) which should display some variant of YaST Software Manager. On 42.3, the default is the Patterns view, it may be something else in Tumbleweed but in either case there should be a “search” somewhere…
Click on “Search” and search for “cinnamon”
Install only the cinnamon package, supposedly all necessary dependencies should also be selected and installed automatically.
Accept and save, continuing the installation.

If the installation fails, I’d recommend re-installing with the XFCE Desktop, then install the Cinnamon Desktop either using YaST Software Manager similar to what I described above or use the one-click install button on the SDB Cinnamon page.

Good Luck,
TSU

Took a look at this.
Cinnamon is currently non-functional just like installing on 42.3.

FWIW -
When installing Cinnamon as the original Desktop,

When you arrive at the screen for selecting your Desktop, click the “Configure Online Repositories” button and complete.
When you arrive back at the Desktop selection screen,