Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

  1. #1
    SentinalCrypt NNTP User

    Default Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    I recently installed Leap 42.3 and noticed I couldn't install some of the extensions I use. I went ahead and installed the latest stable version of Firefox v54.0.1, by unzipping the package, and noticed that I have to use the script file within said unzipped file called "Firefox". I'm just wondering (new to linux mind you, and that I couldn't really find anything else related to this) if there is a way for me to somehow install/replace the newer version (54.0.1) from where the current version (52) is installed at? Or is that not possible for the way YaST installs things?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,564

    Default Re: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    you could add the Mozilla repo and install from there
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...USE_Leap_42.3/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    one of the things that bugged me with 42.3 is the inclusion of Firefox-esr as Firefox
    opensuse already has a Firefox-esr build they could have had both in the main repo and let users chose weather they preferred a current or an esr build (I really don't think a lot of people use java in browsers)
    https://software.opensuse.org/package/firefox-esr and
    https://software.opensuse.org/package/MozillaFirefox
    you can do as farcusnz said and get Firefox 54.0.1 from the mozilla repo but there is a bug in a java package that causes an unsolvable dependency issue the workaround is simple just ignore the dependency warning when switching packages as 54 does not support java anymore
    to get 54 you'd need to add the mozilla repo (so you get regular updates) and do a full vendor change to it (this might switch thunderbird and seamonkey to the mozilla repo builds so think twice before doing it)
    Code:
    zypper ar -f http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/mozilla/openSUSE_Leap_42.3/ mozilla
    zypper dup --from mozilla

  4. #4
    SentinalCrypt NNTP User

    Default Re: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by farcusnz View Post
    you could add the Mozilla repo and install from there
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...USE_Leap_42.3/
    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    one of the things that bugged me with 42.3 is the inclusion of Firefox-esr as Firefox
    opensuse already has a Firefox-esr build they could have had both in the main repo and let users chose weather they preferred a current or an esr build (I really don't think a lot of people use java in browsers)
    https://software.opensuse.org/package/firefox-esr and
    https://software.opensuse.org/package/MozillaFirefox
    you can do as farcusnz said and get Firefox 54.0.1 from the mozilla repo but there is a bug in a java package that causes an unsolvable dependency issue the workaround is simple just ignore the dependency warning when switching packages as 54 does not support java anymore
    to get 54 you'd need to add the mozilla repo (so you get regular updates) and do a full vendor change to it (this might switch thunderbird and seamonkey to the mozilla repo builds so think twice before doing it)
    Code:
    zypper ar -f http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/mozilla/openSUSE_Leap_42.3/ mozilla
    zypper dup --from mozilla
    Thank you both, that should solve my issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,125
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    one of the things that bugged me with 42.3 is the inclusion of Firefox-esr as Firefox
    opensuse already has a Firefox-esr build they could have had both in the main repo and let users chose weather they preferred a current or an esr build (I really don't think a lot of people use java in browsers)
    Hi
    Based on the Factory ML info from the Firefox maintainer it's an issue with the build tools for the latest version changing to rust....
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Based on the Factory ML info from the Firefox maintainer it's an issue with the build tools for the latest version changing to rust....
    I do remember reading a thread in the mailing list that there wore "issues" with newer Firefox sources mainly that gtk2+ support has been dropped (opensuse used/uses gtk2+) issues with dpi scaling and the fact that all plugins except for flash have been blocked, I don't remember reading anything about rust, I think I read somewhere that rust is still not used for Firefox compilation but is planned to be.
    anyhow I'm amazed TW is on ESR I switched to the mozilla repo while I used 42.2 and am still using it on 42.3 I hadn't noticed any issues

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    my mistake apparently rust is stable and is used for parts of Firefox
    https://hacks.mozilla.org/2016/07/sh...st-in-firefox/
    any way 54.0.1 from the mozilla repo is working great for me I had zero issues under plasma 5 or lxqt (with openbox)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,125
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    my mistake apparently rust is stable and is used for parts of Firefox
    https://hacks.mozilla.org/2016/07/sh...st-in-firefox/
    any way 54.0.1 from the mozilla repo is working great for me I had zero issues under plasma 5 or lxqt (with openbox)
    Hi
    The changes in rust 1.18.0 only came through a few weeks ago as well for Tumbleweed to build Firefox;
    https://build.opensuse.org/package/v...anges?expand=1

    The Leap 42.3 version is still of rust is still at 1.17.0.....
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    The changes in rust 1.18.0 only came through a few weeks ago as well for Tumbleweed to build Firefox;
    https://build.opensuse.org/package/v...anges?expand=1

    The Leap 42.3 version is still of rust is still at 1.17.0.....
    - Change i586 build to produce i686 target instead of i586 so that
    x86 Firefox can be built with Rust.
    does that mean only sse2 cpu's will run Firefox on TW?
    there are still quite a few amd and p3's in the wild

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,125
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Replacing builtin Firefox (52) with current Firefox (54.0.1)

    On Mon 31 Jul 2017 12:56:01 AM CDT, I A wrote:

    malcolmlewis;2832107 Wrote:
    > Hi
    > The changes in rust 1.18.0 only came through a few weeks ago as well
    > for Tumbleweed to build Firefox;
    > http://tinyurl.com/y7jpy82y
    >
    > The Leap 42.3 version is still of rust is still at 1.17.0.....


    > - Change i586 build to produce i686 target instead of i586 so that
    > x86 Firefox can be built with Rust.
    >
    >

    does that mean only sse2 cpu's will run Firefox on TW?
    there are still quite a few amd and p3's in the wild


    Hi
    Anything less than a P4....
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...nger-supported

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE Leap 42.2|GNOME 3.20.2|4.4.74-18.20-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •