Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Piemont
    Posts
    274

    Default Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

    From the latest version of Gnome 3.24, many applications have doubled and even tripled ram consumption without reason.
    Gdm is one of these, directly and indirectly through GSD (gnome settings daemon) takes more than 300 mega ram.
    So just change login managers to get more than 300 mega ram available.
    Can it be a bug to point out?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,140
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

    For all modern OS (including openSUSE), memory in use statistics have relatively little meaning. In "the old days" you wanted to have as much free memory as possible for new applications to use (or running applications to use more).

    The general idea today is that if applications grab everything they can get early, then they don't have to have additional memory allocation later.

    Better statistics generally have to do with latencies, such as if you notice lagging performance.

    That said, there can be exceptions like when you work on a resource-intensive workload, and then when done wish to change to another majorly resource-intensive workload. If you <know> you won't be re-opening old apps, then you may want to manually clear your memory allocations in preparation for you new apps.

    I describe this in a document I wrote using the Free tool to display memory usage and include a command to clear your memory buffers and cache
    https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/free_tool

    HTH,
    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Piemont
    Posts
    274

    Default Re: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

    Following the reasoning you make, I think that Windows Vista was avant-garde.
    Or Plasma5 is old because it only uses 500 megabits at boot time.
    It's okay to use memory to get better performance but this does not happen.
    GDM uses 300+ megabits for sleep
    Equal performance, but dual consumption

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,140
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

    Quote Originally Posted by V_idocq View Post
    Following the reasoning you make, I think that Windows Vista was avant-garde.
    Or Plasma5 is old because it only uses 500 megabits at boot time.
    It's okay to use memory to get better performance but this does not happen.
    GDM uses 300+ megabits for sleep
    Equal performance, but dual consumption
    Equal performance = good.
    Means that whatever you're doing falls within the anticipated needs of your configuration with room to expand.

    Yes,
    Technology changes hopefully for the better.

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Piemont
    Posts
    274

    Default Re: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    Equal performance = good.
    Means that whatever you're doing falls within the anticipated needs of your configuration with room to expand.

    Yes,
    Technology changes hopefully for the better.

    TSU

    It needs to understand why Gdm uses 300+ mega rams, and what's the benefit to me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,802
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

    Quote Originally Posted by V_idocq View Post
    It needs to understand why Gdm uses 300+ mega rams, and what's the benefit to me.
    Please, be clear. Show output. One post you're talking about megabits, the next about mega ram. These days desktops try to preload a lot of stuff to have it available once you need it.
    But, like said, output, numbers please to support what you think is wrong.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Piemont
    Posts
    274

    Default Re: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Please, be clear. Show output. One post you're talking about megabits, the next about mega ram. These days desktops try to preload a lot of stuff to have it available once you need it.
    But, like said, output, numbers please to support what you think is wrong.

    Gdm and all processes related to it
    Not even the screen is enough

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Piemont
    Posts
    274

    Default Re: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Please, be clear. Show output. One post you're talking about megabits, the next about mega ram. These days desktops try to preload a lot of stuff to have it available once you need it.
    But, like said, output, numbers please to support what you think is wrong.

    Gdm and all processes related to it
    Not even the screen is enough

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Piemont
    Posts
    274

    Default Re: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption


    lightdm
    Sorry the double post, but using the translator is a problem for me

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,802
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Gnome3.24 and ram consumption

    Yes, and so what? gdm clearly preloads a lot of things related to GNOME.

    Linux is not about having as much RAM free as you can. Since RAM is fast, linux tries to get as much in RAM as possible. A comparison between gdm en lightdm in nonsense, they're different, have different features ( lightdm minimal, gdm full blown ).
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •