Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    I was using 2 separate dolphin windows
    but this is getting silly

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,578
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    Quote Originally Posted by SJLPHI View Post
    left button drag and drop into a directory opens a menu.

    Left button drag and drop into a directory with Shift "should move items to directory". Instead, it copies.
    Left button drag and drop into a directory with Control "should copy items to directory". It copies.
    @SJLPHI: If this is occurring as you describe then the best course of action is to submit a bug report. I cannot replicate the it, and the move/copy behaviour is hard-wired into Plasma 5 (as it was for previous KDE versions).

  3. #13

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    Quote Originally Posted by SJLPHI View Post
    Hello, I have a few things I wish to address on my LEAP 42.2 laptop. There will be more to come, as I am starting to test out LEAP 42.2 more carefully, now that I have more time.

    1. On Desktop, if I try to find a certain file on Desktop, I wish to press its first letter, and sort through which one is the right one INSTEAD of initiating KDE Search. Is there anyway to do this?
    As it did for openSUSE 13.2.
    2. When I am moving objects using the UI. I wish to move it and not copy it. It seems to copy with both Ctrl+drop and Shift+drop. Can I fix it somehow to make it to move for Shift+drop, as it did for 13.2?
    3. Time settings. I wish to use the format:
    SHORTWEEKDAYD/SHORTMONTH/YY
    for my digital clock on the task manager.
    Is there any way to change the default setting?
    1. On Desktop, if I try to find a certain file on Desktop, I wish to press its first letter, and sort through which one is the right one INSTEAD of initiating KDE Search. Is there anyway to do this?

    This may help. I haven't looked to see what can be done with it yet. The config file will be off your home directory

    https://community.kde.org/Baloo/Configuration

    Also not sure yet but there may be search options in one of the QT5 conf files. If you change either I would suggest keeping a copy of the originals.

    2. When I am moving objects using the UI. I wish to move it and not copy it. It seems to copy with both Ctrl+drop and Shift+drop. Can I fix it somehow to make it to move for Shift+drop, as it did for 13.2?

    As per deano I don't use it that way as I am dragging with the mouse. I drag, release and then click move or copy.


    3. Time settings. I wish to use the format:
    SHORTWEEKDAYD/SHORTMONTH/YY
    for my digital clock on the task manager.
    Is there any way to change the default setting?

    Right clicks on the clock bring up options for changing the clock. If the day is shown there isn't an option for a short one and no option for a short date either. I tried setting 10 point courier but it still takes up as much space. That suggests if you could fine the conf files that provide this that they would still take up the same space even if say Saturday was changed to Sat.

    John
    -
    Leap 42.2 KDE 5.26
    3.6gig Xeon, 64bit SATA Raid home - Linux Raid 1
    All software on a flash drive, SATA swap & Temp files,

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,578
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    Quote Originally Posted by ajohnw View Post
    3. Time settings. I wish to use the format:
    SHORTWEEKDAYD/SHORTMONTH/YY
    for my digital clock on the task manager.
    Is there any way to change the default setting?

    Right clicks on the clock bring up options for changing the clock. If the day is shown there isn't an option for a short one and no option for a short date either.
    John
    -
    Yes there is. Already explained in post #2 and #5.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    418

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    I must confess that there was a catastrophic failure from my Windows partition on the laptop. It wiped my LEAP drive, and I decided to take the opportunity to go 13.2 again.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Central USA
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    I'm using 42.3 and also having trouble with the shift+drag copying the files rather than moving them.

    I have two dolphin windows, click and drag and hold down the shift key. It copies the file and leaves the original alone. I try again moving from the first dolphin to a different directory on the second dolphin. It works.

    At first I thought it was relevant to different versus same volume. Not so. I move back and forth and most the time it works, sometimes it doesn't work and leaves a copy. Many times, not all, when hitting F5 refresh on the original window, then moving, it leaves a copy. Many times, not all, when pressing the shift over the target window, it leaves a copy.

    Hit refresh on the source window, drag to target, press shift, release mouse. Most times it leaves a copy. But sometimes it moves it.
    Sometimes without refreshing, dragging either direction and pressing shift over the target window will leave a copy and not move it, and it does it over and over both directions. Then suddenly it starts actually moving it and I have a hard time making it not work properly.

    But right now, for 10 times or more, it seems to consistently not work (leaving a copy) whether refresh or not and either direction on the same volume. Any time I press the shift before the target window, it moves it. But pressing shift after the target window leaves a copy.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,297

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    Quote Originally Posted by dt30 View Post
    I'm using 42.3 and also having trouble with the shift+drag copying the files rather than moving them. ...
    FWIW

    I've not seen that behaviour, and out of curiosity I've just spent around fifteen minutes trying to replicate your problem, without success.

    Shift+drag moves, Ctrl+drag copies, and drag presents a menu choice.

    Leap 42.3 with Dolphin 17.04.2, Frameworks 5.32.0, and Qt 5.6.2
    Regards, Paul

    2x Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20191109) KDE Plasma 5
    2x Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,937

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    I've not seen that behaviour, and out of curiosity I've just spent around fifteen minutes trying to replicate your problem, without success.
    Same here, from two panels in dolphin and from one dolphin instance to another. Shift+drag worked correctly every time, regardless of pressing SHIFT before or after click+drag the file.

    So perhaps a hardware issue, like intermittent mouse button or shift key contact?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,937

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    Quote Originally Posted by I_A View Post
    #3 I'd say check this post on the kde forums
    https://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?...134970#p361132
    it goes in a lot of details
    Perfect! By copying and editing the qml file as directed above I got the date shown exactly as I had in 13.2: "ddd d MMM YY"

    Thanks I_A

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,937

    Default Re: Few things i wish to address: [Plasma 5 GUI based]

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    Perfect! By copying and editing the qml file as directed above I got the date shown exactly as I had in 13.2: "ddd d MMM YY"

    Thanks I_A
    Actually, almost perfect. I get correct date shown as "ddd d MMM" (thu 5 oct). However, adding YY does not show the year, but the year code itself (thu 5 oct YY). The same with AA (=YY in pt_BR). Good enough for now.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •