Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: internet connection

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default internet connection

    I have a big question

    Just a few days ago when I was using 13.1, I was using these rescue cd's on a regular basis. Since I have installed Leap42 I have not been able to use my boot able rescue cd's. I can only assume that something got broke during the install. I have 7 boot able cd's that give me internet capabilities. Right now not one of them will allow me to connect to the internet. Before I consider reinstalling, Is this something that can be easily fixed
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,703

    Default Re: internet connection

    Need more info...

    The OS has nothing to do with if a CD will boot or not

    So please explain exactly what you are doing and expect

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: internet connection

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Need more info...

    The OS has nothing to do with if a CD will boot or not

    So please explain exactly what you are doing and expect
    Not a problem with any of them booting, each of the cd's have a browser (usually Firefox) of some kind. But not one of them will allow me to browse from said browser.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,703

    Default Re: internet connection

    Again the installed OS has nothing at all to do with an OS that is booted from a CD/DVD

    Are you doing cold boots ie turn the machine off then boot the CD. Could be that 42.2 is leaving the NIC in a incompatible state. A cold boot should correct that. I've heard of this happening on some hardware between Windows and Linux on dual boot machines

    What OS is used on the CD's??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: internet connection

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Again the installed OS has nothing at all to do with an OS that is booted from a CD/DVD

    Are you doing cold boots ie turn the machine off then boot the CD. Could be that 42.2 is leaving the NIC in a incompatible state. A cold boot should correct that. I've heard of this happening on some hardware between Windows and Linux on dual boot machines

    What OS is used on the CD's??
    I will give this cold boot a test.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: internet connection

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Again the installed OS has nothing at all to do with an OS that is booted from a CD/DVD

    Are you doing cold boots ie turn the machine off then boot the CD. Could be that 42.2 is leaving the NIC in a incompatible state. A cold boot should correct that. I've heard of this happening on some hardware between Windows and Linux on dual boot machines

    What OS is used on the CD's??
    that did not do the trick
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,002

    Default Re: internet connection

    Again: this has nothing to do with the system that is on your disks (LEAP 42.2). Because that is not even running.

    It is the operating system on those CDs/DVDs that are running. So @gogalthorpe asked you:
    What OS is used on the CD's??
    And he got no answer from you!
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8

    Default Re: internet connection

    While the OP is getting a lot of good help here, i just thought that I would chime in and say that this sounds like what happens to me when I accidentally press that button or switch that puts my computer in airplane mode. Hours spent trying to find the problem, only to realize my problem with a Eureka! moment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •