Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Mounting USB HDD / Permissions

Question Mounting USB HDD / Permissions

Hello, I'm new to Linux and am building a pc with opensuse Leap (KDE) to use primarily as an HTPC.

My media is on an external HDD (connected via usb3). I got it to automount at startup using the KDE system settings. The problem is that it mounts the drive under '/run/media/[username]/'. The software I'm using (Emby media server) has its own user 'emby' and therefore cannot access this location.

I've learnt that i cannot change permissions of this mount point, as it's a running process that resets after restart. So I'm looking for some way to solve this, either make 'emby' get access to it or mount the drive another way, so that I don't have a permissions issue.

Thanks for reading and hope someone can help.

Default Re: Mounting USB HDD / Permissions

Is that device connected "permanent"?

In that case, it would be better to mount it like all disk devices belonging to the system, by giving it an entry in /etc/fstab. You can do this using YaST > System > Partitioner. (Be carefull, do not Format the partition(s)).

Do not forget to first decide what the mount point should be, you need it in configuration time.

Afterwards you (as system manager) can then decide if you want the owner of the mount point should be and what permissions it should have. Place, owner and permissions depend on it's usage.

E.g when it is user emby is the only one to use it, the mount point could be /home/emby/<nice name> , with emby (and emby's default group) as owner and permission, well, emby can then set that him/herself.

BTW, it looks as you miss some background information: https://en.opensuse.org/SDB%3ABasics...,_mount_points
    Last edited by hcvv; 08-Mar-2017 at 04:41.
    Henk van Velden