Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: problem with hibernation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    15

    Default problem with hibernation

    When I click on "Hibernate" in the KDE launcher, the system seems to write the image to the swap disk. It then seems to shut the computer down briefly, but then, within a few seconds, returns to the same state as it was in before I tried to put it in hibernation. I have 9GB of swap space, and so that should not be the problem. If anyone has a solution, I would appreciate hearing it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,761

    Default Re: problem with hibernation

    How much memory???

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: problem with hibernation

    writing 9 GiB to disk takes a lot of time!
    there might be a bug somewhere or you pressed a key or moved the mouse, touched the touch-pad, if you use kdeconnect your phone might have pinged kde etc...
    that's why I stopped using hibernate a few years ago, I use suspend to RAM ie sleep or power off,
    suspend to ram is simultaneous as nothing is written to disk but uses a bit of power.
    and I don't have a lot of ram only 4 gigs for my use it's enough

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,576
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: problem with hibernation

    Does invoking the following work to complete hibernation?
    Code:
    echo disk > /sys/power/state
    Some good suspend/hibernate debugging references:
    https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documenta...-debugging.txt
    https://01.org/blogs/rzhang/2015/bes...bernate-issues

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: problem with hibernation

    Thank you for your suggestions. Unfortunately, none of them solved the problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,576
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: problem with hibernation

    Quote Originally Posted by dws View Post
    Thank you for your suggestions. Unfortunately, none of them solved the problem.
    It might be that a bug report is required then.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    357

    Default Re: problem with hibernation

    * maybe some clues in journal entries - obviously there will be a dead spot but you should get a build up, and for waking from suspend mine shows the event i.e. lid open. (ps you have a bug to be investigated but in general suspend is more reliable on linux)
    * arch pages always good: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php..._and_hibernate

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •