Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    The Earth
    Posts
    496

    Default Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    Hi
    I goto 42.2 but i have some repos home in 42.1 that is not 42.2
    Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?
    Example repos that is not 42.2
    *homeOF
    *home:moritzmolch:gencfsm
    Dual-boot openSUSE and win10
    OpenSUSE Tumbleweed ; Plasma 5.15.x:" LVM encrypted"
    My Partition: GPT and UEFI system
    Hp ProBook 450 G1

  2. #2

    Default Re: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    If you're lucky (and cautious), you may be able to.
    But in general you shouldn't.

    It may cause conflicts or even break your system.

    Better ask the corresponding maintainers/people to provide their repo for 42.2, or try to find your desired packages in a different repo that does exist for 42.2, I'd say.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    The Earth
    Posts
    496

    Default Re: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    If you're lucky (and cautious), you may be able to.
    But in general you shouldn't.

    It may cause conflicts or even break your system.

    Better ask the corresponding maintainers/people to provide their repo for 42.2, or try to find your desired packages in a different repo that does exist for 42.2, I'd say.
    I have some software(home:xof) that was related to previous opensuse 42.1 that will fail if the new opensuse 42.2 Update
    Dual-boot openSUSE and win10
    OpenSUSE Tumbleweed ; Plasma 5.15.x:" LVM encrypted"
    My Partition: GPT and UEFI system
    Hp ProBook 450 G1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    The Earth
    Posts
    496

    Default Re: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    What is the task of software that are not in the new opensuse version
    Dual-boot openSUSE and win10
    OpenSUSE Tumbleweed ; Plasma 5.15.x:" LVM encrypted"
    My Partition: GPT and UEFI system
    Hp ProBook 450 G1

  5. #5

    Default Re: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    Quote Originally Posted by 123thinksuse View Post
    I have some software(home:xof) that was related to previous opensuse 42.1 that will fail if the new opensuse 42.2 Update
    Well, as I wrote, ask X0F to build for 42.2 as well.

    And what software exactly?
    It may be available in another repo for 42.2 as mentioned.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    Quote Originally Posted by 123thinksuse View Post
    What is the task of software that are not in the new opensuse version
    Sorry, I don't understand that sentence at all.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    The Earth
    Posts
    496

    Default Re: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    Well, as I wrote, ask X0F to build for 42.2 as well.

    And what software exactly?
    It may be available in another repo for 42.2 as mentioned.
    I can't These apps find for leap 42.2
    gnome-encfs-manager
    cryptkeeper
    rarcrack
    gimp-plugin-resynthesizer
    libvulkan_intel
    Dual-boot openSUSE and win10
    OpenSUSE Tumbleweed ; Plasma 5.15.x:" LVM encrypted"
    My Partition: GPT and UEFI system
    Hp ProBook 450 G1

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    The Earth
    Posts
    496

    Default Re: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    A question
    i have some apps in the home:multimediahoto and change 42.1 to 42.2
    i must reinstall all software home:multimediahoto or not need reinstall software
    Dual-boot openSUSE and win10
    OpenSUSE Tumbleweed ; Plasma 5.15.x:" LVM encrypted"
    My Partition: GPT and UEFI system
    Hp ProBook 450 G1

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,718

    Default Re: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    You change the repo and then of course you use it by installing from it. E.g.
    Code:
    zypper dup --from <the-identification-of-the-new-repo>
    Or using YaST > software > Software Management
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10

    Default Re: Can i use some home repos 42.1 in the 42.2?

    Quote Originally Posted by 123thinksuse View Post
    I can't These apps find for leap 42.2
    I searched on OBS for you, the search page may not be aware of 42.2 already (at least it doesn't find packages in the standard repos yet).

    gnome-encfs-manager
    Not available for 42.2 currently it seems.

    moritzmolch's repo only contains this one package, so should be safe to use.
    Though I cannot tell you that the package itself will work on 42.2, it should though, judging from the dependencies.

    OTOH, no point to keep the repo if you have the package installed already, see below.

    cryptkeeper
    rarcrack
    gimp-plugin-resynthesizer
    libvulkan_intel
    These are not even in the two repos you mentioned?

    gimp-plugin-resynthesizer is available in the "graphics" repo which does exist for 42.2.

    The others don't really have sophisticated requirements AFAICS, so should still work.

    And I cannot findlibvulkan_intel at all in OBS, so no idea.

    Btw, upgrading should not remove installed packages, even if they are not contained in any configured repo.
    Unless there are conflicts of course.

    Quote Originally Posted by 123thinksuse View Post
    A question
    i have some apps in the home:multimedia:photo and change 42.1 to 42.2
    i must reinstall all software home:multimedia:photo or not need reinstall software
    Yes, you should reinstall all.
    The installed packages (compiled for 42.1) may or may not work on 42.2.
    Last edited by wolfi323; 23-Nov-2016 at 06:57.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •