Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

  1. #1

    Default Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    I'm getting a message that the community 'Package flash-plugin is broken, integrity check has failed.' (details below)

    Is it safe? Or is this just a spurious message?


    Code:
      Error: INVALID:flash-plugin-11.2.202.643-release.x86_64 (Adobe Flash Plugin): Signature verification failed [4-Signatures public key is not available]
         Header V3 DSA/SHA1 Signature, key ID f6777c67: NOKEY
         Header SHA1 digest: OK (4049465e07f5c8a074acbcf6039f11f54e4a77e0)
         MD5 digest: OK (d9cc5f78ede4210f6a1fcad9c1ddf224)
         V3 DSA/SHA1 Signature, key ID f6777c67: NOKEY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,251

    Default Re: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    Quote Originally Posted by hnimmo View Post
    I'm getting a message ..........
    Spontanious? Or are you using some application or so?
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,760

    Default Re: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    Should get flash from packman the Adobe repos has never been well maintained by Adobe. Surprise surprise

  4. #4

    Default Re: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Spontanious? Or are you using some application or so?
    Just Firefox. I was getting messages from Firefox telling me that the flash-player was blocked because incompatible (out-of-date). The updates took a while to catch up, so I activated Adobe repo instead.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    I do not use Flash in Firefox but if I were to use it I would also take it from Packman.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,500

    Default Re: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    Quote Originally Posted by hnimmo View Post
    I was getting messages from Firefox telling me that the flash-player was blocked because incompatible (out-of-date).
    This looks like the now standard message Firefox gives. If the box within the message is clicked, there is the choice "allow now" and "allow and remember".
    This message pops up each time Firefox is updated and also when a newer Flash is available.

    If Flash is installed from Adobe, for it to work correctly, the Packman (openSUSE) version has to be deleted, at least that was the status the last time it was tried.

    cheers

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    Firefox blocks old flash plugins regulary so you need to keep flash up to date
    if you get flash from packman it will be auto-updated, as adob'e repo does npt provide the pgp key it's updates are ignored you'd have to manually update it, if you just installed an rpm downloaded from adobe you'd have to redownload and reinstall everytime there is an update.
    the best way to get flash is from packman as it's signed and it will be auto updated

    one more thing adobe calls the flash rpm flash-plugin while packman calls it flash-player having different names is problematic as duing a vendor change to packman will not replace flash from adobe you need to do it manually, so remove flash-plugin and install flash-player

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,754
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    Quote Originally Posted by hnimmo View Post
    Just Firefox. I was getting messages from Firefox telling me that the flash-player was blocked because incompatible (out-of-date). The updates took a while to catch up, so I activated Adobe repo instead.
    I recommend installing from packman.

    Yes, there was a period where the packman version was lagging behind. But recently, it seems to be keeping up to date.

    Earlier, when packman was lagging, I did install flash from the adobe repo. I first found the adobe key on a keyserver, and fetched to my gpg keyring (should be able to use "kgpg" or similar for that). Then I exported to a file. Then I use "rpmkeys" to import into the rpm database. And, after that, I was able to use flash from the adobe repos. However, I have now reverted to using from packman, since that is being kept up to date.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  9. #9

    Default Re: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    I've found this:

    ## Adobe Repository 32-bit x86 ##
    rpm -ivh http://linuxdownload.adobe.com/adobe...0-1.noarch.rpm
    rpm --import /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-adobe-linux


    ## Adobe Repository 64-bit x86_64 ##
    rpm -ivh http://linuxdownload.adobe.com/adobe...0-1.noarch.rpm
    rpm --import /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-adobe-linux

    in this link: https://www.if-not-true-then-false.c...-red-hat-rhel/

    Regards,
    Marcelo.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Flash-plugin from community Adobe Flash Plugin repository

    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimenez View Post
    I've found this:

    ## Adobe Repository 32-bit x86 ##
    rpm -ivh http://linuxdownload.adobe.com/adobe...0-1.noarch.rpm
    rpm --import /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-adobe-linux


    ## Adobe Repository 64-bit x86_64 ##
    rpm -ivh http://linuxdownload.adobe.com/adobe...0-1.noarch.rpm
    rpm --import /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-adobe-linux

    in this link: https://www.if-not-true-then-false.c...-red-hat-rhel/

    Regards,
    Marcelo.
    tanks for that
    to be clear
    those rpm's only contain adobe's public pgp key
    it's simpler to get flash from packman as opensuse users need packman for multimedia support
    adding an extra repo then installing a package and importing a pgp key is way too much work
    packman's pgp key is included in the repo so just by adding it you get access to it

    for example for LEAP this is packmans public key
    ftp://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE...repomd.xml.key
    no need for extra packages or commands

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •