Trying to install ndnSIM (ndn network simulator based off of ns-3)

Greetings all,

I’m fairly new to openSUSE, so I’ll just get that out of the way. Although I have a decent command (no pun intended) of the command-line … commands, vi, apt-get, etc. etc., I would not consider myself a very strong Linux user yet. I uninstalled Windows off of this laptop and installed openSUSE Leap 42.1 to do some network simulations for my PhD work.

I don’t know if this is the specific board for this, but I’m hoping it will help.

With ndnSIM and ns-3, there is a command called “waf”. When I issue the following:

./waf configure --enable-examples

most everything seems to be configured correctly, except CryptoPP, which is required for the network simulator.

I’ve looked all over the place, and I cannot seem to find the appropriate way to install this library!

I’ve used :

sudo apt-get install libcrypto+±dev

and this doesn’t work. I get the following:
**No provider of ‘libcryptop+±devel’ found.
Resolving package dependencies…

Nothing to do.**

So I thought, perhaps I can find something on openSuse.org itself and launch YaST2 from their package on the site. And bingo, I found what i think to be the right package: libcryptopp.

Okay, so I think, “alright, openSUSE just chose to name it something slightly different.”, and I go about installing it.

YaST2 comes up, no problem. It says it’s installing. No problem. Then, at the end:

Software installation
Installation was only partially successful.
The following packages could not be installed

• libcryptopp

I cannot for the life of me get this to install, and I can’t get ndnSIM to work without it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. And yes, I’m awaiting being added to the ndnSIM mailing list also, but any help you can provide in the meantime would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

JPB

Hi and welcome to the forum :slight_smile: