Thread: How to stop systemd from starting a service/application at boot

Question How to stop systemd from starting a service/application at boot

Hi Folks,
    I am new to systemd. I have been reading the man pages but still can't figure out how to stop systemd from starting a particular service/application at boot time. I am having problems with my md RAID array and I am trying to remove a disk but mdadm won't let me because some application has a connection to it. There are a number of md processes running and 'kill -9' isn't killing them. I want to stop systemd from starting md at boot then reboot.???? If anyone can give me a better way to do it let me know but I would still like to know how to control systemd. Thanks in advance for any help you are willing to throw my way.

Default Re: How to stop systemd from starting a service/application at boot

Probably best to make such changes from a live DVD/USB (openSUSE rescue disk). Changing basic stuff while running on it is like changing your tires while driving down the road

if you are looking for a good tutorial on how to use systemd watch this talk by Redhate:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9YmaNuvw5U

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by astender777 View Post
    Hi Folks,
    I am new to systemd. I have been reading the man pages but still can't figure out how to stop systemd from starting a particular service/application at boot time. I am having problems with my md RAID array and I am trying to remove a disk but mdadm won't let me because some application has a connection to it. There are a number of md processes running and 'kill -9' isn't killing them. I want to stop systemd from starting md at boot then reboot.???? If anyone can give me a better way to do it let me know but I would still like to know how to control systemd. Thanks in advance for any help you are willing to throw my way.