Thread: plasma performance

Unhappy plasma performance

Hi yall!

Ok, so I've been having crummy performance problems ever since I installed. This machine is an i5 with 4GB RAM. What I do with this machine is recover data from hard drives, and I have an auxiliary storage drive and an nfs share in my fstab, which is the most tinkering I've done under the hood.

What happens is that after a few hours the RAM usage is maxed out and CPU idles around 25% and has ZERO swap! I've been running this system for a couple months and I've only seen it use swap one single time. Only once! And that was before I upped swappiness to 90. Ok, whatever, I don't normally use swap on my personal machines but I figured it would come in handy for this one since I'm doing alot more. So, swap is out the window, ignore that, bye-bye! So, when the system load monitor shows my memory is taken up, the system slows to a crawl. Sometimes it's so bad I have to switch to another getty and reboot there. The worst part is that this happens just sitting there without me using it at all.

Baloo was the main culprit, but plasmashell is also doing it. Baloo is ripped out now, so reboots are down to once a day. Plasmashell is still giving me problems, it wants >4GB virtual ram... and swap is still zero! Other ram metrics are normal, like ~100MB. Virt ram doesn't mean jack according to all the linux gurus, so why is it only after virt ram gets way out of hand I start having problems?

I guess that segues into another question in case no one knows what to do... how do I get rid of plasma, and what other DE's can I get that are stable? (My experience with fresh installs using MATE left me with a broken window manager every time) If I go this route I'm gonna request a little hand-holding because I've never had success switching DE or WM on any distro.

Default Re: plasma performance

Quote Originally Posted by jdwhatnot View Post
    Hi yall!