Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,015

    Default Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    Hello.

    I plan to change 13.2 to leap.
    I have just installed leap 42.1 to replace 13.2

    Laptop ASUS G75VW 24Gb of ram.
    Done a fresh install.
    Folder / , folder /home and folder /root has been formatted during install.
    Installed language is English, keyboard layout is french.

    Testing sound by the mean of youtube, I can hear music.
    The audio volume icon in the panel is present but empty.
    I can adjust the sound only in the youtube internet page.

    Configuring sound from yast remove sound.

    Any help is welcome.

    The following come from a new install without running yast sound.

    Code:
      P: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0
      E: DEVPATH=/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0
      E: DRIVER=snd_hda_intel
      E: ID_MODEL_FROM_DATABASE=7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller
      E: ID_PCI_CLASS_FROM_DATABASE=Multimedia controller
      E: ID_PCI_SUBCLASS_FROM_DATABASE=Audio device
      E: ID_VENDOR_FROM_DATABASE=Intel Corporation
      E: MODALIAS=pci:v00008086d00001E20sv00001043sd00001487bc04sc03i00
      E: PCI_CLASS=40300
      E: PCI_ID=8086:1E20
      E: PCI_SLOT_NAME=0000:00:1b.0
      E: PCI_SUBSYS_ID=1043:1487
      E: SUBSYSTEM=pci
      E: USEC_INITIALIZED=20938
      
      P: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/hdaudioC0D0
      E: DEVPATH=/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/hdaudioC0D0
      E: DRIVER=snd_hda_codec_via
      E: SUBSYSTEM=hdaudio
      
      P: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0
      E: DEVPATH=/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0
      E: ID_BUS=pci
      E: ID_FOR_SEAT=sound-pci-0000_00_1b_0
      E: ID_MODEL_FROM_DATABASE=7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller
      E: ID_MODEL_ID=0x1e20
      E: ID_PATH=pci-0000:00:1b.0
      E: ID_PATH_TAG=pci-0000_00_1b_0
      E: ID_PCI_CLASS_FROM_DATABASE=Multimedia controller
      E: ID_PCI_SUBCLASS_FROM_DATABASE=Audio device
      E: ID_VENDOR_FROM_DATABASE=Intel Corporation
      E: ID_VENDOR_ID=0x8086
      E: SOUND_FORM_FACTOR=internal
      E: SOUND_INITIALIZED=1
      E: SUBSYSTEM=sound
      E: SYSTEMD_WANTS=sound.target
      E: TAGS=:seat:systemd:
      E: USEC_INITIALIZED=48034
      
      P: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/hwC0D0
      N: snd/hwC0D0
      E: DEVNAME=/dev/snd/hwC0D0
      E: DEVPATH=/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/hwC0D0
      E: MAJOR=116
      E: MINOR=7
      E: SUBSYSTEM=sound
      E: TAGS=:uaccess:
      E: USEC_INITIALIZED=49927
    Code:
    23: PCI 1b.0: 0403 Audio device
      [Created at pci.366]
      Unique ID: u1Nb.HtpYv3eW1fB
      SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0
      SysFS BusID: 0000:00:1b.0
      Hardware Class: sound
      Model: "Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller"
      Vendor: pci 0x8086 "Intel Corporation"
      Device: pci 0x1e20 "7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller"
      SubVendor: pci 0x1043 "ASUSTeK Computer Inc."
      SubDevice: pci 0x1487 
      Revision: 0x04
      Driver: "snd_hda_intel"
      Driver Modules: "snd_hda_intel"
      Memory Range: 0xf7300000-0xf7303fff (rw,non-prefetchable)
      IRQ: 28 (4231 events)
      Module Alias: "pci:v00008086d00001E20sv00001043sd00001487bc04sc03i00"
      Driver Info #0:
        Driver Status: snd_hda_intel is active
        Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe snd_hda_intel"
      Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________

    server leap 15-- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 42.3 -- ASUS g750JZ KDE leap 42.3 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    19,882
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    Check the levels using pavucontrol (PulseAudio Volume Control). You may need to install package of the same name first.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    19,882
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    Quote Originally Posted by jcdole View Post
    Testing sound by the mean of youtube, I can hear music.
    The audio volume icon in the panel is present but empty.
    I can adjust the sound only in the youtube internet page.
    Which desktop are you using?

    Configuring sound from yast remove sound.
    That can happen when YaST gets it wrong. Usually no configuration is required. Easy to fix though, just remove the configuration (or manually remove /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    S.E.Asia
    Posts
    26,468
    Blog Entries
    36

    Default Re: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    Quote Originally Posted by jcdole View Post
    I have just installed leap 42.1 to replace 13.2
    ...
    Laptop ASUS G75VW 24Gb of ram.
    ...
    Testing sound by the mean of youtube, I can hear music.
    The audio volume icon in the panel is present but empty.
    From what I can read, sound works, until the moment you try to configure it some more with YaST. Note when YaST configures sound, typically it creates an /etc/modprobe.d/50-sound.conf file, and then restarts the various sound daemon's/reloads the driver. So as already noted to you above, rather than re-install after misconfiguring sound with YaST, one simply needs to delete the /etc/modprobe.d/50-sound.conf file using root permissions, and perform a PC restart.

    Its possible your Laptop ASUS G75VW has two Intel devices for audio, which typically always causes YaST a problem. Possibly one is HDMI and the other analog sound.

    Could you run the following diagnostic script and share the URL/web address it gives you (where PC audio configuration is uploaded) so we can obtain a better insight into PC's problem with openSUSE sound:
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
    run the above as a regular user in a konsole/xterm, with PC connected to internet, and select the SHARE/UPLOAD option. Let script run to completion. After it is complete in the konsole/xterm will be the URL where the configuration information was uploaded.

    The recommendation to install and run 'pavucontrol' that was given to you earlier in this thread is excellent advice. Guidance on using pavucontrol is here: https://forums.opensuse.org/entry.ph...th-pavucontrol

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,015

    Default Re: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    Hello.

    Yast/hardware/sound --> cards not configured
    pulseaudio is installed
    Have installed pavucontrol
    Have reboot because connecting to pulseaudio take very long time ???.
    On reboot Volume Audio widget show playback device as : HDMI audio playback only (GF114 Audio Controller )

    Initial alsa report:

    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=36...4836030362d056

    Open yast2/Sound
    No Card configured

    Have configured (Quick setup )
    1°) 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller --> Card 0
    2°) GF114 HDMI Audio Controller --> Card 1

    Volume Audio widget show playback device as : Internal Analog Device.
    Adjusting sound level give a crash.
    Now Volume Audio widget show playback device as : Fake Device.

    No sound on youtube internet page.

    Current /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf/
    Code:
    install snd /sbin/install-snd-module snd $CMDLINE_OPTS
    install snd-pcm /sbin/install-snd-module snd-pcm $CMDLINE_OPTS
    install snd-seq /sbin/install-snd-module snd-seq $CMDLINE_OPTS
    Current /etc/modprobe.d/50-sound.conf/
    Code:
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel,snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.HtpYv3eW1fB:7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    # NXNs.M9FSKRB0Q93:GF114 HDMI Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-1 snd-hda-intel
    Second alsa report:

    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=8f...7b50a5c6daafe8

    remove /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf
    reboot


    Sound is OK



    Audio volume widget :
    http://paste.opensuse.org/22863701

    last alsa report :

    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=6a...193f11be2583b3


    Now I am going to finish my installation by adding some softwares.

    I will continue this thread later if I run into more problems.

    PS : I had had this problem many times on 13.2 on this laptop.

    Many thanks to deano_ferrari and oldcpu.
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________

    server leap 15-- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 42.3 -- ASUS g750JZ KDE leap 42.3 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    S.E.Asia
    Posts
    26,468
    Blog Entries
    36

    Default Re: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    What you provided with 1st, 2nd, and 3rd diganostic reports is very confusing.

    Why post 3 ? What was done in between ?

    The first diagnostic script output ( http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=36...4836030362d056 ) looks reasonable. In the above the sound cards are recognized and the alsa modules loaded.

    Now from the second diagnostic script output ( http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=8f...7b50a5c6daafe8 ) looks to be a disaster as alsa module not loaded and aplay/arecord do not recognize the output.

    The third diagnostic script output ( http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=6a...193f11be2583b3 ) looks much better than the second.

    From what I can read you have this working and do not need help ?

    Note the script output:
    Code:
    !!Loaded ALSA modules
    !!-------------------
    
    snd_hda_intel
    snd_hda_intel
    indicates two snd_hda_intel modules loaded, one for your PC's HDMI controller and one for your PC's Intel Corp 7 series/C210 Series chipset. Note Yast sound module will NOT handle this sort of situation properly.

    By default sound will go to sound card-0 which in your scripts is not the HDMI but the other (which is good). But there is a risk they can be reversed - so keep an eye out for that. There is a way to fix them to always have a consistency as to which is sound card-0 - but no need to do that now if sound currently works.

    Important is that pavucontrol application will allow one to configure the sound output even if the sound cards are reversed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,015

    Default Re: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    What you provided with 1st, 2nd, and 3rd diganostic reports is very confusing.
    Why post 3 ? What was done in between ?
    I don't understand the question. But I think that my comments below will enlighten you.

    First comment
    > The first diagnostic script output ( http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=3638ffeaacd725bf065b09b7194836030362d056 ) looks
    >
    reasonable. In the above the sound cards are recognized and the alsa modules loaded.

    Starting point after a fresh install
    One can hear sound from internet, but cards are not configured and audio volume widget is empty

    Second comment
    > Now from the second diagnostic script output (
    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=8fc27226853a56ade165e86aac7b50a5c6daafe8 )
    >
    looks to be a disaster as alsa module not loaded and aplay/arecord do not recognize the output.

    Open yast2/Sound
    No Card configured
    Configure cards
    Volume Audio widget show playback device as : Internal Analog Device.
    Adjusting sound level give a crash.
    Now Volume Audio widget show playback device as : Fake Device.
    No sound on youtube internet page.

    Third comment
    > The third diagnostic script output ( http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=6a099bc0c51e4df38a0610ca83193f11be2583b3 ) looks much
    > better than the second.

    have removed /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf
    reboot

    Sound is OK.


    >
    > Note the script output:
    >
    Code:
    > !!Loaded ALSA modules
    > !!-------------------
    > 
    > snd_hda_intel
    > snd_hda_intel
    >
    > indicates two snd_hda_intel modules loaded, one for your PC's HDMI controller and one for your PC's Intel Corp 7 series/C210
    > Series chipset. Note Yast sound module will NOT handle this sort of situation properly.
    >
    Just a starting point I may read to circumvent the problem for future.

    >
    > By default sound will go to sound card-0 which in your scripts is not the HDMI but the other (which is good). But there is a risk
    > they can be reversed - so keep an eye out for that. There is a way to fix them to always have a consistency as to which is sound > card-0 - but no need to do that now if sound currently works.
    >
    Are you thinking about
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=xxxxxxxxxxxx
    in /etc/modprobe.d/50-sound.conf

    I have read something like that somewhere on this forum

    BTW I could not find the file :
    /usr/src/linux-4.1.31-30/Documentation/sound/alsa/ALSA-Configuration.txt
    I have made a minimal install.
    What is missing ?

    >
    > From what I can read you have this working and do not need help ?
    >
    Yes I need more help
    User root has no sound.
    Yes I have read every things on this forum concerning log in as user root.
    From now I also warmly thank you.
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________

    server leap 15-- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 42.3 -- ASUS g750JZ KDE leap 42.3 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,015

    Default Re: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    Alsa report under for user root

    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=a4...d5de58df726e64

    It seems that sound system is not running under user root. Is it normal ?
    Pulseaudio:
    Installed - Yes (/usr/bin/pulseaudio)
    Running - No

    ESound Daemon:
    Installed - Yes (/usr/bin/esd)
    Running - No
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________

    server leap 15-- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 42.3 -- ASUS g750JZ KDE leap 42.3 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South-West France
    Posts
    1,015

    Default Re: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    I got sound again

    From internet and from command line :

    Code:
    speaker-test -Dplug:front -c2 -l5 -twav
    Code:
    speaker-test -c2 -l5 -twav
    But audio device is empty.
    In yast cards are still configured.

    I had had the same problem under 13.2.

    Seems that the hardware is very fickle.

    Is it different under user root account ?
    Thanks for helping. JCD
    __________

    server leap 15-- ASUS g75vw KDE leap 42.3 -- ASUS g750JZ KDE leap 42.3 -- acer aspire s13 win 10 home -- HP Omen win 10 home - scan EPSON V500 - Brother HL2250DN - Samsung CLP-325W

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    S.E.Asia
    Posts
    26,468
    Blog Entries
    36

    Default Re: Leap 42.1 - Sound badly installed.

    Quote Originally Posted by jcdole View Post
    have removed /etc/modprobe.d/50-alsa.conf
    reboot

    Sound is OK.
    Note, one does not necessarily need an /etc/modprobe.d/50-sound.conf for sound to work. That file "might" be needed in some cases, but in many cases it is not needed. That file does allow one to tune one's audio configuration - but often such tuning is not needed. In your case, given your hardware requires two instances of the snd_hda_intel sound module, YaST likely will not create a correct /etc/modprobe.d/50-sound.conf file.

    And as noted - that file is not always needed. So do NOT assume something is wrong just because the file is not there. And in thie case of two snd_hda_intel sound modules being required, a manual editing of the file may be needed with judicious editing.

    Quote Originally Posted by jcdole View Post
    Are you thinking about
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=xxxxxxxxxxxx
    in /etc/modprobe.d/50-sound.conf
    NO.

    assigning the model may be needed when your sound card is misidentified or nominally not configured correctly by alsa driver.

    But in this case, when I am referring to two sound instances of the snd_hda_intel , I'm referring to your openSUSE applications not knowing which hardware (HDMI or nominal analog/digital sound) is using which alsa module instance. Assigning a model will not help in this sort of case. I hope that is clear now to you.


    Quote Originally Posted by jcdole View Post
    Yes I need more help
    User root has no sound.
    Forgive me for asking, but why do you want user root to have no sound ? Nominally one should not use user root for playing ANY multimedia application. Nominally it is very bad practise.

    Let me ask - does a regular user have sound ? And wrt user root and sound, what is your basis for saying user root has no sound ?

    I'll start looking at your other replies now.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •