Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    172

    Default time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    Getting the obvious out of the way, NTP is configured, the system clock is correctly set and visibly so in konsole

    Code:
    gerry@linux-zkrq:~> date
    Fri 23 Sep 21:21:39 UTC 2016
    gerry@linux-zkrq:~>

    and YaST

    However, the time is no longer displayed in the login manager nor in any of the plasmoids - not sure where to start looking

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    Quote Originally Posted by gerrygavigan View Post
    Getting the obvious out of the way, NTP is configured, the system clock is correctly set and visibly so in konsole

    Code:
    gerry@linux-zkrq:~> date
    Fri 23 Sep 21:21:39 UTC 2016
    gerry@linux-zkrq:~>
    and YaST

    However, the time is no longer displayed in the login manager nor in any of the plasmoids - not sure where to start looking
    Just guessing but I suspect that you have not set a timezone --
    System Settings -> Regional Settings -> Date & Time
    also in Digital Clock Settings (right-click on the clock)
    and YaST -> System -> Date and Time

    Did you notice that “date” is reporting the UTC time when the default for London (assuming that you are in England) would be BST
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    Just guessing but I suspect that you have not set a timezone
    Thank you for your reply. The return for date is the system time - which is set to UTC (as it should be)

    The locale, even if it were not set, would default to system time, but in such a case a time would still be displayed albeit the wrong one.

    The problem here is that no time is being displayed.

    My guess is a missing or corrupt library as a result of the software update (which would not have affected any of the previously correct config settings)

    My problem is not knowing where to look. As it affects both KDE and the log in manager, my wild stab would be somewhere in X

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    My Tumbleweed "20160921" does not exhibit this symptom. However I did get some messed up theme/styles. The GTK+ themes seem to "have issues". Also the live repository mirrors seemed to be updating over time and not the previous behaviour of becoming live after synchronisation had completed (GWDG and Warwick). I noticed the SDDM login screen changing appearance, then reverting in the last few days. Perhaps another update and changing theme (even if you later revert to your preference) would help.

    BTW I am still guessing, but my money's on the theme.
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    The latest Tumbleweed update did not solve the problem. However, the clock is visible in IceWM. So it does appear to be a KDE problem

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    Quote Originally Posted by gerrygavigan View Post
    The latest Tumbleweed update did not solve the problem. However, the clock is visible in IceWM. So it does appear to be a KDE problem
    Except the clock doesn't appear in SDDM, either, which is completely independent of KDE

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    Quote Originally Posted by gerrygavigan View Post
    Except the clock doesn't appear in SDDM, either, which is completely independent of KDE
    The only SDDM theme with a clock in a new TW install is “Breeze”. The default KDE Plasma 5 theme is “Breeze”. It only takes a few seconds to change the theme, and/or force a re-download of the relevant packages. In general, when fixing stuff, is to try the easiest, non-destructive things first, then tackle the rigorous logical approach.
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    The only SDDM theme with a clock in a new TW install is “Breeze”. The default KDE Plasma 5 theme is “Breeze”. It only takes a few seconds to change the theme, and/or force a re-download of the relevant packages. In general, when fixing stuff, is to try the easiest, non-destructive things first, then tackle the rigorous logical approach.
    Of course changing themes is quick and easy however SDDM and KDE are completely independent. Something has happened to both of them.

    To my complete lack of surprise changing themes had no effect, the clock is still absent. While forcing a reinstall might be the way forward I am nowhere nearer working out what it is that requires to be reinstalled, or indeed if it is actually missing.

    I am grateful for your generic advice but I am hoping someone has something more specific to suggest

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    Quote Originally Posted by gerrygavigan View Post
    I am hoping someone has something more specific to suggest
    Then perhaps you could divulge exactly what you did to achieve this apparently unique installation. You haven't told us whether this wass a clean install or an upgrade, on a real or virtual machine, install media, what update method you used, etc. do you know which from and to version started the problem?

    This is what my Tumbleweed reports. Perhaps you could reciprocate.
    Code:
    rayh@y3:~> 
    rayh@y3:~> grep "ID=" /etc/os-release
    ID=opensuse
    VERSION_ID="20160921"
    rayh@y3:~>
    rayh@y3:~> zypper se -f digitalclock
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    
    S | Name                        | Summary                                      | Type   
    --+-----------------------------+----------------------------------------------+--------
    i | breeze5-icons               | Breeze icon theme                            | package
    i | bundle-lang-kde-en          | Translations for a group of KDE applications | package
    i | oxygen5-icon-theme-large    | Oxygen Icon Theme                            | package
    i | oxygen5-icon-theme-scalable | Oxygen Icon Theme                            | package
    i | plasma5-workspace           | The KDE Plasma Workspace Components          | package
    i | plasma5-workspace-lang      | Languages for package plasma5-workspace      | package
    rayh@y3:~>
    rayh@y3:~> zypper info plasma5-workspace
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    
    
    Information for package plasma5-workspace:
    ------------------------------------------
    Repository     : Tumbleweed                         
    Name           : plasma5-workspace                  
    Version        : 5.7.4-1.2                          
    Arch           : x86_64                             
    Vendor         : openSUSE                           
    Installed Size : 12.5 MiB                           
    Installed      : Yes                                
    Status         : up-to-date                         
    Summary        : The KDE Plasma Workspace Components
    Description    :                                    
        This package contains the basic packages for a Plasma workspace.
    
    rayh@y3:~>
    rayh@y3:~> ls -lhR /usr/share/plasma/plasmoids/org.kde.plasma.digitalclock/
    /usr/share/plasma/plasmoids/org.kde.plasma.digitalclock/:
    total 8.0K
    drwxr-xr-x 1 root root   16 Sep  4 21:17 contents
    -rw-r--r-- 2 root root 5.4K Aug 23 13:57 metadata.desktop
    
    /usr/share/plasma/plasmoids/org.kde.plasma.digitalclock/contents:
    total 0
    drwxr-xr-x 1 root root  36 Sep  8 20:39 config
    drwxr-xr-x 1 root root 242 Sep  8 20:39 ui
    
    /usr/share/plasma/plasmoids/org.kde.plasma.digitalclock/contents/config:
    total 8.0K
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2.2K Aug 23 13:57 config.qml
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1.7K Aug 23 13:57 main.xml
    
    /usr/share/plasma/plasmoids/org.kde.plasma.digitalclock/contents/ui:
    total 76K
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root  14K Aug 23 13:57 CalendarView.qml
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 7.8K Aug 23 13:57 configAppearance.qml
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2.6K Aug 23 13:57 configCalendar.qml
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 6.8K Aug 23 13:57 configTimeZones.qml
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root  22K Aug 23 13:57 DigitalClock.qml
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3.7K Aug 23 13:57 main.qml
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root  809 Aug 23 13:57 MonthMenu.qml
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 5.3K Aug 23 13:57 Tooltip.qml
    rayh@y3:~>
    If you try to “Add Widgets” to a desktop or the default panel does “Digital Clock” appear as available? What happens if you create a new “Default Panel? What happens if you create a new user, and login to that environment?
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: time display issues after Tumbleweed update

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    Then perhaps you could divulge exactly what you did to achieve
    Did you read the title of the post?

    By contrast, you started this series of replies "if I noticed" without seemingly being aware that the system clock should be set to UTC

    You continued with a series of "guesses"

    You then seemingly patronised me with a tutorial on fault finding and rectification without first finding out anything about me.

    The internet can be a rough place but I have tried to be scrupulously polite in my responses to you

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    this apparently unique installation
    Resorting to sarcasm is not helpful, moreover I am experiencing another problem which at least one other person is reporting on.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •