Thread: Kapman [game] always freezes after Level 1

Default Kapman [game] always freezes after Level 1

I just did a fresh install of Tumbleweed to a Virtualbox machine. I am relatively new to Linux and completely new to OpenSUSE and Tumbleweed.

I then installed Kapman game from repositories. This automatically installed a number of KDE package dependencies. Although everything appears to work well, as soon as I clear Level 1 of the game, the interface freezes. The sound of the game continues as normal, but the display is frozen. I can move the mouse pointer, but clicking on any items [also outside the game, on the desktop] does not have any effect as they are either frozen or non-responsive because the machine is too busy.

So my questions are:

1) Is there a way to unfreeze my virtual machine without resorting to a forced reboot through virtual box? I believe there are hot key combinations that should give me control, but not sure what they are. I also think xKill is installed, but I'm not sure if there is a pre-assigned key combination for that. I can't open a terminal once this happens because the menu and everything else is frozen.

2) What steps should I take to identify and hopefully resolve the freezing issue? I chose some non-standard options during my installation of Tumbleweed, and I'm not sure if that could cause a problem. My feeling is that this is probably a graphic driver issue. I believe the Virtualbox Guest Additions are installed automatically when one runs inside Virtualbox, and so I think that graphic driver must be in use.

Thanks for any help.

Default Re: Kapman [game] always freezes after Level 1

Quote Originally Posted by Oxonsi View Post
    1) Is there a way to unfreeze my virtual machine without resorting to a forced reboot through virtual box? I believe there are hot key combinations that should give me control, but not sure what they are.