Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: multiple chromiums

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default multiple chromiums

    Every time I open yast2 I have 4 instances of Chromium, and each of them is in need of ffmpeg. I will not install this update until this dependency problem is resolved. My question is how long will this go on. I have waited on this ffmpeg update for several months. Does anyone know what is going on.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,121
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: multiple chromiums

    Hi
    The ffmpeg from packman? If so better to ask on their mailing list.... http://lists.links2linux.de/cgi-bin/...stinfo/packman

    Which version of ffmpeg, I see: ffmpeg, ffmpeg-2.6, ffmpeg-2.8 and ffmpeg_oldabi
    https://pmbs.links2linux.de/project/show/Essentials
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: multiple chromiums

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    The ffmpeg from packman? If so better to ask on their mailing list.... http://lists.links2linux.de/cgi-bin/...stinfo/packman

    Which version of ffmpeg, I see: ffmpeg, ffmpeg-2.6, ffmpeg-2.8 and ffmpeg_oldabi
    https://pmbs.links2linux.de/project/show/Essentials
    I have never had to hunt for this file in the past. It has always showed up a day or so after chromium.

    I am just wondering what has happened.

    I dont use chromium at all, I will simply uninstall the 2 files.

    Thankyou
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,121
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: multiple chromiums

    Quote Originally Posted by mike7757 View Post
    I have never had to hunt for this file in the past. It has always showed up a day or so after chromium.

    I am just wondering what has happened.

    I dont use chromium at all, I will simply uninstall the 2 files.

    Thankyou
    Hi
    I wonder if it pulled the chromium for the oss repo... you can check via;
    Code:
    zypper if chromium
    AFAIK if it's the oss version, then you would need to zypper dup from your packman repo to switch, but if you don't use it...then shouldn't be an issue
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: multiple chromiums

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    I wonder if it pulled the chromium for the oss repo... you can check via;
    Code:
    zypper if chromium
    AFAIK if it's the oss version, then you would need to zypper dup from your packman repo to switch, but if you don't use it...then shouldn't be an issue
    it wont let me uninstall, keeps giving the dependency bologna.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,121
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: multiple chromiums

    Quote Originally Posted by mike7757 View Post
    it wont let me uninstall, keeps giving the dependency bologna.
    Hi
    What repositories do you have? And the error details?
    Code:
    zypper if chromium
    zypper lr
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,790
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: multiple chromiums

    I just booted my 13.1 system.

    It seems that "chromium-ffmpeg" is missing from the packman repo at present.

    The easy alternative is to install "chromium-ffmpegsum". That should allow you to get "chromium" up to date. It does not have the full multimedia support that is in "chromium-ffmpeg", but if you rarely use "chromium" you probably won't notice.

    If you later see that there is a matching "chromium-ffmpeg", you can then install that to replace "chromium-ffmpegsumo".

    I'm normally using 42.1. There's a chromium update that has been sitting there for a few days. But it won't install because "chromium-ffmpeg" on packman has not yet been updated to match.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •