Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    974

    Default VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    My system is currently Leap 42.1/KDE from Frameworks5/Qt5 repos Plasma 5.6.1 Qt 5.6.0
    Video is fglrx

    I have been using VLC player for mp4 files for a while (13.x).
    Initially ran OK when transitioned to Leap 42.1, but after recent updates in Frameworks5/Qt,
    I find that the video decoder no longer displays although audio is OK.
    I assumed some sort of dependency mismatch at first, figured it would sort out over a couple weeks.
    But still no video.

    Other players (Dragon, SM, mpv) are OK.

    VLC and all it's dependencies are from Packman, currently ver 2.2.2-3.2

    Anyone else having this issue?
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    a few possibilities
    #1 mixed vlc packages as dragon uses gstreamer and mpv uses libmplayer while vlc has it's own libvlc library, post your repo list as the description dragon works vlc does not means little.
    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    #2 vlc prefers hardware VDPAU acceleration and AMD does not support VDPAU so remove all vdpau packages:
    Code:
    zypper rm libvdpau libvdpau1
    or if you don't want to remove anything go in vlc preferences and select VAAPI as AMD/ATI supports that acceleration.

  3. #3

    Default Re: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcgrath5035 View Post
    Anyone else having this issue?
    Works fine here on 13.2 with Qt5.6.0. (KF5 or Plasma5 should not have any influence on VLC anyway, but I do have 5.20.0 and 5.5.1 respectively too)

    Other than what I_A wrote already:
    Maybe there's some mismatch in your ffmpeg/libav packages? Leap does come with it in a "crippled" version that only supports free codecs.
    Try to do a full switch to Packman.

    And check that you have vlc-codecs (from Packman) installed.
    Dragon uses gstreamer by default, and mpv has its own. (SMPlayer is just a frontend to mpv or MPlayer)
    So a missing vlc-codecs might explain your problem...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    974

    Default Re: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    Thanks both.

    I did have vlc-codecs from Packman, all my multimedia is from Packman (via a Switch system files to)

    or if you don't want to remove anything go in vlc preferences and select VAAPI as AMD/ATI supports that acceleration.
    I decided to give this a try as an experiment.
    I did try VAAPI, with no immediate luck, but did notice that if I toggled the screen from maximized to shrink, Video appeared.

    Hmmm, not finding any particular setting that seemed to help, I clicked "Reset Preferences" and now all is good.

    (Wow, a lot of knobs to turn in VLC Setup )

    I am good for now, Thanks
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcgrath5035 View Post
    My system is currently Leap 42.1/KDE from Frameworks5/Qt5 repos Plasma 5.6.1 Qt 5.6.0
    Video is fglrx

    I have been using VLC player for mp4 files for a while (13.x).
    Initially ran OK when transitioned to Leap 42.1, but after recent updates in Frameworks5/Qt,
    I find that the video decoder no longer displays although audio is OK.
    I assumed some sort of dependency mismatch at first, figured it would sort out over a couple weeks.
    But still no video.

    Other players (Dragon, SM, mpv) are OK.

    VLC and all it's dependencies are from Packman, currently ver 2.2.2-3.2

    Anyone else having this issue?
    Also have this issue but in Tumbleweed
    Only some .mp4 videos are affected
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    974

    Default Re: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    My VLC on Leap 42.1 has started working OK again, but lots of other changes and I can''t pinpoint which made the difference.
    First, via normal updates using Frameworks5 repo, I am now running KF5 5.21.0 Plasma 5.6.2 Qt 5.6.0.
    Also, I backed out the fglrx driver and am now running radeon driver for my dual monitor setup.

    One thing I noticed about VLC.
    When I first posted, a VLC window would open on my monitor, audio would play but video would be all black.
    If I clicked the "^" to maximize the video in the window, then the diamond to returned to scaled view, Video would appear.

    I had also noticed in another program (QCAD), that while running it and selecting it's Help function, a new Help window would open in what is likely a skinless browser window, but it would open as if it had been told that my configuration was one single 3840x 1080 display, not two 1920x1080 displays in side by side mode. Clicking minimize to tray the restoring would correct that.
    My "theory" was that perhaps VLC was attempting to play a video wider than its allocated window area on startup.

    Play with those window controls.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    I'm pretty much on stock TW
    I can live without VLC, I only really use it for testing playback on movie .iso's that I make with devede(ng)

    VLC actually caused me to thing it was devedeng that was at fault, but then I tested a .iso on a Mint 17 machine and it played fine in VLC
    In TW it plays but the resolution is all off. It should be 16:9 wide but VLC in TW outs it at 4:3 and everything looks odd
    And then there's the odd .mp4 that doesn't play, one I get with get_iplayer actually
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    Here is a sample of mediainfo

    First one doesn't play, only audio with a tiny video thumb

    Second one (from line 75) plays fine

    https://paste.kde.org/porbsqjgb/ucmcni
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    974

    Default Re: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    FYI, you Paste is password protected.

    Not that I think I could be of much help, but I was curious as to what you were looking at.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: VLC Player- no Video but good audio Plasma 5.6.1 and Qt 5.6

    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •