Installing a binary file in GUI mode

I am having a hard time trying to install a binary file. When I try to do it via terminal I end up with an error saying „The installer is unable to run in graphical mode. Try running the installer with the -console or -silent flag.”. Thing is I cannot install that file either with the -console or with the -silent flag as it’s unsupported. If I double click the bin file it opens an “unknown type” message box asking me to select an application. I installed some X Windows packages with no success. I don’t know what else to do. I am a newbie to linux (though the more I use it the more I like it over Windows OS) and a complete retard when it comes to openSuse. I don’t even know the yum or apt-get equivalent. But I really need to use this OS as it’s amongst the few that allows me to run 2 different molecular design software (if I succeed to install that second bin). And some functions are only available for Linux platform. The bin file I am trying to run is the installation package for Discovery Studio Client.

that bin file most likely needs root privileges, try it as root

su -

that file is most likely a gzipped file with a bundled bash script it does not use any system installer like apt or yum, openSUSE uses zypper as a command line package manager, as it is an rpm based distro it also uses rpm, you can install and use yum too but imo yum is inferior to zypper.

if you really need to run it in text mode, press ctrl+alt+F1, login as root, go in text mode ie init 3 by executing

init 3

run that script then go back to graphic mode by executing

init 5

If you have no objection to revealing the binary,

In most openSUSE Desktops, you should be able to select your console output and paste in your Forum post (use the hash button to create

tags).

I don't know that a lack of permissions would throw a "unable to run in graphical mode" error...

TSU