Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Installing RPM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lancaster, Lancashire
    Posts
    161

    Default Installing RPM

    Hi there, I've just installed Leap onto my laptop and for the most part it is working wonderfully. But. I've been trying to install Skype via RPM but it wants to open the file with ARK which ust puzzles me. I am pretty sure it didn't do that before. Surely ARK is not the right program to install new software with.

    Oh and Google Chrome and Hangout plugin always fail to download, but I am going to presume that that is a Google problem not OpenSUSE problem.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    3,952

    Default AW: Installing RPM


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,004

    Default Re: Installing RPM

    Quote Originally Posted by JudasDisciple View Post
    Hi there, I've just installed Leap onto my laptop and for the most part it is working wonderfully. But. I've been trying to install Skype via RPM but it wants to open the file with ARK which ust puzzles me. I am pretty sure it didn't do that before. Surely ARK is not the right program to install new software with.

    Oh and Google Chrome and Hangout plugin always fail to download, but I am going to presume that that is a Google problem not OpenSUSE problem.
    When Saureland's advice does not hel;p, please connsider not saying things like "I've been trying to install Skype via RPM but it wants to open the file with ARK which ust puzzles me.", because that gives us no idea about what you "have been trying". Some people might even guess that you tried by staring with vigour at the screen, but nothing happened . Always explain exactly what you have (which RPM) and did with it. Prefarable by copy/past of the prompt, command, output, next prompt in the post (between CODE tags of course, the # button in the tool bar of the post editor). Much less talking for you and much more information for others.

    Second advice. Do not mix several problems in one thread. That will create confusion. Start a new thread about your Chrome/Hangout problem, with a good title. That is the only way you wil draw the attention of people knowing things about Chrome/Hangout.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,289
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Installing RPM

    Quote Originally Posted by JudasDisciple View Post
    Hi there, I've just installed Leap onto my laptop and for the most part it is working wonderfully. But. I've been trying to install Skype via RPM but it wants to open the file with ARK which ust puzzles me. I am pretty sure it didn't do that before. Surely ARK is not the right program to install new software with.
    Yes, that behaviour changed with opeSUSE 13.2 IIRC. This thread will be of interest to you

    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...ith-gt-gt-YaST

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,289
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Installing RPM

    I wanted to be able to install a single RPM package again, so today I right-clicked on a RPM package, and chose 'Open With' > 'Other...', then entered
    Code:
    xdg-su -c "/sbin/yast2 sw_single %F"
    This created 'xdg-su.desktop in ~/.local/share/applications. I renamed this file to software-installer.desktop and edited it so that the name made more sense to me
    Code:
    Name=Software Installer
    There should be corresponding update in ~/.local/share/applications/mimeapps.list as well.

    Now when I want to download a single RPM package, FF gives me the option to install the file using 'Software Installer' as desired.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,997

    Default Re: Installing RPM

    skype is a 32 bit application and LEAP is 64bit only so imo the best way to install it is with zypper
    Code:
    zypper in /path/to/skype-4.3.0.37-suse.i586.rpm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lancaster, Lancashire
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: Installing RPM

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    I wanted to be able to install a single RPM package again, so today I right-clicked on a RPM package, and chose 'Open With' > 'Other...', then entered
    Code:
    xdg-su -c "/sbin/yast2 sw_single %F"
    This created 'xdg-su.desktop in ~/.local/share/applications. I renamed this file to software-installer.desktop and edited it so that the name made more sense to me
    Code:
    Name=Software Installer
    There should be corresponding update in ~/.local/share/applications/mimeapps.list as well.

    Now when I want to download a single RPM package, FF gives me the option to install the file using 'Software Installer' as desired.
    Excellent. This was more like it. Thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •