Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: VMware workstation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    29

    Default VMware workstation

    I'm having an issue starting up VMware workstation 11. Issue is below.






    Code:

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,674

    Default Re: VMware workstation

    Quote Originally Posted by abetterfish View Post
    I'm having an issue starting up VMware workstation 11. Issue is below.
    A few kernel modules must be compiled from source to enable vmware.
    To do so you need to install a minimal development environment, at least:
    kernel-devel
    kernel-default-devel
    gcc
    make

    and likely a few other dependencies / recommends (be sure to have "install recommended" enabled before proceeding.
    Report back if you need further details...
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,382
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: VMware workstation

    Just beware, VMware has had a checkered history running on TW.
    Doesn't mean it won't always run, just that problems happen... relatively recently there were kernel issues.

    Your specific error suggests that gcc 5.2.1 wasn't found.
    AFAIK gcc 5.2.1 is automatically installed by default in TW, but you'll need to verify.

    Verify it's installed, one way is to simply search for the package
    Code:
    zypper se gcc
    If it's installed, my next guess is that there might be a bug in the install script.
    You can look for it yourself and modify or post in the VMware forums.

    TSU

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMware workstation

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    Just beware, VMware has had a checkered history running on TW.
    Doesn't mean it won't always run, just that problems happen... relatively recently there were kernel issues.

    Your specific error suggests that gcc 5.2.1 wasn't found.
    AFAIK gcc 5.2.1 is automatically installed by default in TW, but you'll need to verify.

    Verify it's installed, one way is to simply search for the package
    Code:
    zypper se gcc
    If it's installed, my next guess is that there might be a bug in the install script.
    You can look for it yourself and modify or post in the VMware forums.

    TSU

    Yep I did gcc --version, got 5.2.1. I'll post on the VMware forums and post the solution here
    Something happened

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMware workstation

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    Just beware, VMware has had a checkered history running on TW.
    Doesn't mean it won't always run, just that problems happen... relatively recently there were kernel issues.

    Your specific error suggests that gcc 5.2.1 wasn't found.
    AFAIK gcc 5.2.1 is automatically installed by default in TW, but you'll need to verify.

    Verify it's installed, one way is to simply search for the package
    Code:
    zypper se gcc
    If it's installed, my next guess is that there might be a bug in the install script.
    You can look for it yourself and modify or post in the VMware forums.

    TSU

    OKAY I FINALLY FIGURED IT OUT

    Just copy paste this:

    cd /usr/lib/vmware/modules/source
    unpack vmnet.tar
    cd vmnet-only
    make
    cd ..
    unpack vmmon.tar
    cd vmmon-only
    make
    cd ..
    cp vmmon.o /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/misc/vmmon.ko
    cp vmnet.o /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/misc/vmnet.ko
    depmod -a
    /etc/init.d/vmware restart
    Something happened

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,674

    Default Re: VMware workstation

    Quote Originally Posted by abetterfish;2752410[COLOR=#666666
    ][/COLOR]
    cp vmmon.o /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/misc/vmmon.ko
    cp vmnet.o /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/misc/vmnet.ko
    depmod -a
    /etc/init.d/vmware restart
    FYI I installed the non commercial VMware® Workstation 12 Player on Leap and found the two vmmon.ko and vmnet.ko in
    /lib/modules/`uname -r`/misc/
    and apparently the player installed and works without a glitch. Is the configuration for TW (or for the full Workstation) different?
    Main: Leap 15 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    Test: Leap 42.3 (& others) on Core2Duo + GM965

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: VMware workstation

    Quote Originally Posted by OrsoBruno View Post
    FYI I installed the non commercial VMware® Workstation 12 Player on Leap and found the two vmmon.ko and vmnet.ko in
    /lib/modules/`uname -r`/misc/
    and apparently the player installed and works without a glitch. Is the configuration for TW (or for the full Workstation) different?
    This seems to be a long running problem problem with VMware.
    Something happened

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •