Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Which display controller ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    26

    Default Which display controller ?

    Hi everyone,
    I'm running a CAD application which uses extensively OpenGL, and the problem is that the display seems pretty slow.
    My computer has two graphics controller, a "Haswell integratedgraphics controller" and an "nVidia 3D controller". Is there a way to know which one is active, and is it possible to switch from one to the other ?
    Thanks for any help.
    André

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Düsseldorf/Germany
    Posts
    248

    Default Re: Which display controller ?

    looks like a similar problem to what I'm looking at at the moment.
    The switching may work with this :https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:NVIDIA_Bumblebee
    The repo is available for Leap as well

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,703

    Default Re: Which display controller ?

    Well first off is this a notebook if so it is most likely an optimus configuration. This requires special care and set up. If not turn off the Intel GPU in the BIOS and install the NVIDIA drivers

    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:NVIDIA_drivers

    First if optimus then you need to use bumblebee or maybe try another route

    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...d-of-bumblebee

    for bumblebee do NOT install the NVIDIA drivers follow the instructions exactly If you already install NVIDIA drivers then remove before installing bumblebee packages

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Which display controller ?

    Thanks,
    Seems to be a bit too complicated and too risky for my computer skills unfortunately. Is there a way to know which controller is active ?
    I'll only try bumblebee if the current controller is the Intel Haswell, since I need the hardware acceleration of the nvidia card.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,703

    Default Re: Which display controller ?

    Please answer the questions. Your answers may change the answers

    You will have to get your hands dirty to do what you want.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,284
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Which display controller ?

    Maybe the advice given here will help

    http://unix.stackexchange.com/questi...-gpu-is-active

    Specifically, it was suggested...
    Code:
    $ glxinfo|egrep "OpenGL vendor|OpenGL renderer"

    This might give an indication about which chipset is active.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Which display controller ?

    Follow the suggestion above.
    You have to work with your cad application using the nvidia driver IMHO.
    You may have to switch to a less memory hog DE when you able to work things out
    with your driver. I use xfce and very reliable in cad application in 13.2. Right now I am testing
    enlightenment in Leap 42.1. I am using Bricscad version 15.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Which display controller ?

    Thanks everyone for the answers

    Code:
    linux-wi19:/home/windsoarer # glxinfo|egrep "OpenGL vendor|OpenGL renderer"
    glxinfo: command not found
    but

    Code:
    linux-wi19:/home/windsoarer # lspci -vnnn | perl -lne 'print if /^\d+\:.+(\[\S+\:\S+\])/' | grep VGA
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0416] (rev 06) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
    So if I read it right, it's the intel chip which is active and not the nVidia controller ?
    Which means I'll need to go through the Bumblebee process ?


    P.S. @gogalthorp: you didn't ask any question

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,974

    Default Re: Which display controller ?

    Are you running a desktop or tower PC? Or, are you running a laptop?

    Solutions are different, depending on your answer. (If laptop, probably optimus, if not laptop, almost certainly not optimus.)
    -Gerry Makaro
    Fraser-Bell Info Tech
    Solving Tech Mysteries since the Olden Days!
    ~~
    If I helped you, consider clicking the Star at the bottom left of my post.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Which display controller ?

    It's a laptop

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •