Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    Well, well, well. Pretty cool! It wouldn't start the desktop until I removed my GTX 750Ti video card, but hey! I read a lot on the interweb and it seems that LEAP has a lot going for it. I was asking myself, "OK, why not take this opportunity to jump to some more "science-oriented" distro like CentOS, Fedora (or maybe even MINT), now that OS is changing majorly?"

    The answer was, again, as it was in the past, the two bits of the opensuse code which have kept me from successfully jumping ship to kubuntu or MINT, say: YaST (a really big deal!!!), and the hierarchical organization of the Application Menu. Well, LEAP kept the former but has dumped the latter. Any way the latter could be reinstated for all packages?

    This probably doesn't sound like a big deal, but that menu organization actually saves a lot of brain power when fighting some problem late at night (i.e., when the coffee isn't helping much).

    Thanks for a great distro,
    Patti

    PS: How to install the 32-bit Package Pattern? How to install kio-sysinfo? Also, I can't seem to figure out how to do a console login. It gives me the options of various desktops, and shutdown/reboot buttons. Where's the console login button?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,142

    Default Re: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    "Application menu" sounds like a GUI thing to me. But I nowhere se what GUI desktop you use.

    Until now nobody volunteered to build a 32-bit version of Leap 42.1
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,623
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by PattiMichelle View Post
    This probably doesn't sound like a big deal, but that menu organization actually saves a lot of brain power when fighting some problem late at night (i.e., when the coffee isn't helping much).
    I followed the suggestion of wolfi

    Code:
    # cd /etc/xdg/menus
    # cp applications.menu kf5-applications.menu
    That gave me back the old menu structure.

    There has been one update that undid that change, so I had to repeat the copy.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    "Application menu" sounds like a GUI thing to me. But I nowhere se what GUI desktop you use.

    Until now nobody volunteered to build a 32-bit version of Leap 42.1
    KDE - guess it's called plasma 5. Apologies, my dyslexia is getting worse, I guess. (at 61 I guess I can claim hippocampal atrophy?) About the 32-bit version of OS - that's not what I meant - you know, package pattern.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I followed the suggestion of wolfi

    Code:
    # cd /etc/xdg/menus
    # cp applications.menu kf5-applications.menu
    That gave me back the old menu structure.

    There has been one update that undid that change, so I had to repeat the copy.
    WOAH!!! Thanks nrickert!!! I thought I did a decent search, but missed wolfi's post, apparently.

    Is it still politically correct to say opensuse? If so, opensuse comes through again. Still in the top 5 on distrowatch.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,142

    Default Re: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by PattiMichelle View Post
    Is it still politically correct to say opensuse?
    It is correct to say so, but it is written openSUSE since ages.
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,846
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    It is correct to say so, but it is written openSUSE since ages.
    Since more than ten years, I recently found out ( again ).
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    It is correct to say so, but it is written openSUSE since ages.
    LOL! I seem to remember OpenSuSE. What that, 10.x? Or maybe my imagination...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,142

    Default Re: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by PattiMichelle View Post
    LOL! I seem to remember OpenSuSE. What that, 10.x? Or maybe my imagination...
    It never was OpenSUSE. There was a switch from SUSE Linux 10.1 to openSUSE 10.2. See: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OpenSUSE
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,380
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Just installed LEAP - is old-style Application Menu possible?

    The KIO-Slave sysinfo:/ can be downloaded from the KDE:Extra repo, although it is no longer supported/maintained

    https://software.opensuse.org/package/kio_sysinfo

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •