Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How do I fix hibernate?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    The Earth
    Posts
    493

    Default How do I fix hibernate?

    Hi
    Hibernate was not
    working in my opensuse
    I am unable to hibernate my
    system. How to rectify this issue? Is
    there any config file which I need to
    change for hibernate to function
    properly?
    Dual-boot openSUSE and win10
    OpenSUSE Tumbleweed ; Plasma 5.15.x:" LVM encrypted"
    My Partition: GPT and UEFI system
    Hp ProBook 450 G1

  2. #2

    Default Re: How do I fix hibernate?

    Hibernation is an unsolved issue in Linux. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

    Do you speak about a laptop or desktop computer?

    Do you you have enough swap space, approximately equal to or greater than 1.5*RAM?

    Do you have one or more swap partitions?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    The Earth
    Posts
    493

    Default Re: How do I fix hibernate?

    Quote Originally Posted by ZStefan View Post
    Hibernation is an unsolved issue in Linux. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

    Do you speak about a laptop or desktop computer?

    Do you you have enough swap space, approximately equal to or greater than 1.5*RAM?

    Do you have one or more swap partitions?
    My system is laptop hp
    My ram is 6 gig
    My swap is 2 gig and enable and mount.

    The first that I was working opensuse installation
    But after a while it does not work.
    How to fix?
    #sorry for my bad english.
    Dual-boot openSUSE and win10
    OpenSUSE Tumbleweed ; Plasma 5.15.x:" LVM encrypted"
    My Partition: GPT and UEFI system
    Hp ProBook 450 G1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,922

    Default Re: How do I fix hibernate?

    Quote Originally Posted by 123thinksuse View Post
    My ram is 6 gig
    My swap is 2 gig and enable and mount.
    It may be too small. During hibernation it needs to write out content of memory to hard disk (swap by default).
    How to fix?
    Start with telling what does not work. You cannot hibernate? If yes, what exactly the problem is - no permissions to execute hibernate, or system tries hibernate but does not complete. Or you cannot resume after hibernation?

  5. #5

    Default Swap's size

    Quote Originally Posted by 123thinksuse View Post
    My system is laptop hp
    My ram is 6 gig
    My swap is 2 gig and enable and mount.
    As a first move, expand the swap space. This will likely lead to repartitioning of the hard drive, and may need a reinstallation of the OS.
    I suggest swap's size 8-10 GB. There may be smarter ways to expand swap, for example, create a second swap space. While in theory the whole swap = 1st swap + 2nd swap, I have seen this implemented badly. So, in a problematic case, it is better to have one swap partition.

    For testing purposes, you can squeeze the last partition on the disk, add a new swap partition, disable the old swap space.

    While not exactly true, I believe that the swap must at least be able to hold the whole RAM, and often more.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    The Earth
    Posts
    493

    Default Re: How do I fix hibernate?

    Deleted old swap and create new swap 8 gig and enable and mount but not working

    each time I run hibernate after 30 seconds. show lock screen
    and restarting the system not show menu grub and start system I must again restart system until show menu grub.
    I think. system can't write on the swap
    system tries hibernate but does not
    complete
    Dual-boot openSUSE and win10
    OpenSUSE Tumbleweed ; Plasma 5.15.x:" LVM encrypted"
    My Partition: GPT and UEFI system
    Hp ProBook 450 G1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,922

    Default Re: How do I fix hibernate?

    Quote Originally Posted by 123thinksuse View Post
    and restarting the system not show menu grub
    Actually this is normal during hibernate. It sets next boot to current menu entry, and grub skips menu in this case. It is probably needed to undo this when hibernation fails. For this bug report would be needed.

    After you created new swap, did you also change resume=xxx kernel parameter to point to new swap device and rebooted?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    The Earth
    Posts
    493

    Default Re: How do I fix hibernate?

    Quote Originally Posted by arvidjaar View Post
    After you created new swap, did you also change resume=xxx kernel parameter to point to new swap device and rebooted?
    Ater reboot

    Yes ,Show fails and resume .......
    Very fast skip screen not complete show screen
    Dual-boot openSUSE and win10
    OpenSUSE Tumbleweed ; Plasma 5.15.x:" LVM encrypted"
    My Partition: GPT and UEFI system
    Hp ProBook 450 G1

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,922

    Default Re: How do I fix hibernate?

    Try to hibernate and then upload output of "journalctl -b" to http://susepaste.org/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •