Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Yerevan, Armenia
    Posts
    24

    Exclamation System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

    Hi Fellow Gecko lovers,
    There is a nice applet in system tray for getting and installing updates. The Case is that it checks for updates everyday (actually it seems to me several times in a day as i got 2-3 updates during my work) and in its properties i told it to check for updates only once in a month. But the app doesn't care. It just checks for updates as it was doing (several times a day). Is that a problem for you too? How do you deal with it? What can you suggest me?
    Thanks for your help and consideration

    System: openSUSE LEAP 42.1 standard installation, KDE Plasma 5 Desktop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

    There are several recent threads on this topic.

    My opimion is that KDE provide their update software (PackageKit and Apper) for those unfortunates who do not use (open)SUSE, and thus do not have YaST On-line Update. I remover bo the appaer and PackageKit rpms and rely on YOU, which has always been trouble-free. Make sure that yast2-online-update and yast2-online-update-configuration and yast2-online-update-frontend packages are installed.
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Yerevan, Armenia
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

    isn't that "native" SUSE applet?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

    Quote Originally Posted by smartalgorithm View Post
    isn't that "native" SUSE applet?
    I am not sure ,but I thought that apper (aka Kpackagekit) and PackageKit first appeared in Fedora -- they are certainly in the Red Hat/Fedora and Debian repositories.
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Yerevan, Armenia
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

    I am talking about this applet


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,749

    Default Re: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

    This is a new updater apper is not in Leap

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,134

    Default Re: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    This is a new updater apper is not in Leap
    From YaST
    Code:
    │Name  │     │Version  │Repository                           │Size          │Architecture
    │apper  │ x   │0.9.2-2.4│42.1-dvd-iso                        │     1.4 MiB│x86_64 
    │apper  │      |0.9.2-2.4 │openSUSE-Leap-42.1-Oss │     1.4 MiB│x86_64
    ~Thank you for sharing an interesting problem.
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

  8. #8

    Default Re: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

    Quote Originally Posted by smartalgorithm View Post
    isn't that "native" SUSE applet?
    No.

    It is a PackageKit frontend developed by the same people that developed plasma-nm AFAIK.
    I think it was actually written for Fedora.

    The name is plasma5-pk-updates btw (if you want to remove it e.g.).

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    I am not sure ,but I thought that apper (aka Kpackagekit) and PackageKit first appeared in Fedora -- they are certainly in the Red Hat/Fedora and Debian repositories.
    PackageKit is a desktop-agnostic, cross-distribution package management system.
    And it is hosted on freedesktop.org:
    http://www.freedesktop.org/software/PackageKit/

    Apper is just one of many frontends.

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    This is a new updater apper is not in Leap
    Apper is in Leap. It's just not installed by default.
    And as it is still a KDE4 application, the update notifier won't work in Plasma5.
    That's the main reason why this new applet is included and installed by default instead of Apper.

    The only other (KDE) option would have been Muon (Kubuntu's updater, now officially released together with Plasma5). It provides a PackageKit backend as well meanwhile, but that had problems until recently. And it couldn't be built on Leap because of missing dependencies.

    It is available in KDE:Frameworks5 though, also for Leap. But I don't know if that would work better regarding the reported problem in the first post.
    Also check that you don't have Apper installed (it won't be removed if you upgraded from 13.2 or earlier).
    It might actually be Apper that checks for updates, and as both are PackageKit frontends, PackageKit would notify the new applet about the updates which would display them then.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Yerevan, Armenia
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly

    everything is strange now for me haha
    I'll just keep it. Not a big deal
    Thank you ALL !

  10. #10

    Default Re: System Update Applet - Doesn't Work Properly


    Apper is in Leap. It's just not installed by default.
    And as it is still a KDE4 application, the update notifier won't work in Plasma5.
    That's the main reason why this new applet is included and installed by default instead of Apper.

    It is available in KDE:Frameworks5 though, also for Leap. But I don't know if that would work better regarding the reported problem in the first post.
    Also check that you don't have Apper installed (it won't be removed if you upgraded from 13.2 or earlier).
    It might actually be Apper that checks for updates, and as both are PackageKit frontends, PackageKit would notify the new applet about the updates which would display them then.
    That is true. I installed Apper for only one reason; That I can Install rpm directly from browser (or with double click in Dolphin) with Apper installer as default application (same as gdebi package installer in Debian-based distros). Maybe there is another way to do this, but I find this way as the easiest.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •