Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Log in as wwwrun?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,015

    Default Log in as wwwrun?

    Hi!
    I have ownCloud v8.14 installed on a 42.1(update from 13.1) 'server'. I have used SQLite as it was installed by default. I have read that it was a solution for a single (client) user. I notice that my clients(laptop, tablet) outside my Lan was lagging. Owncloud was recommending a 'real' SQL server instead.

    Ok, read in the official docs from owcloud and (created new on in MariaDB) on my main server. So far so fine, -the problems started when I supposed to follow:

    Code:
    xxxx:/srv/www/htdocs/owncloud # php occ db:convert -type --all-apps mysql 'user' 192.168.0.1 owncloud 
    Console has to be executed with the user that owns the file config/config.php
    Current user: root
    Owner of config.php: wwwrun
    I did a quick search and this is not a new problem i e(many mores on the net).

    Like

    I solved it to run the migration. I hope that I didn’t break the security (changed ownership and changed back when the migration started = 15seconds maybe).

    If it was worth the haggle? H-ll yes. As like to have to have Digikam to talk to a SQL server instead of SQLite one.

    This with web service (php) and have the 'ownership' needs some work. I have tested with change permissions mask etc in connection to have the same mapings accessible on both Lan by NFS and owncloud wwwrun.

    But what do I know .

    regards
    Last edited by jonte1; 10-Nov-2015 at 10:45. Reason: changed words
    I'm shameless like others in the forum -was I to any help or made sense? If yes: click the on the star below to the left. Written whit a ;-) in my eye.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,077

    Default Re: Log in as wwwrun?

    On Tue, 10 Nov 2015 17:46:03 +0000, jonte1 wrote:

    > Console has to be executed with the user that owns the file
    > config/config.php Current user: root Owner of config.php: wwwrun


    su - wwwrun

    Then run it.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,015

    Default Re: Log in as wwwrun?

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    su - wwwrun

    Then run it.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C
    -aha!

    Will test it next time (seen the advice before).

    Here it comes it again that different dist have different solutions/advice. Well i'm using opensuse and are not interested how other dist are using sudo.

    Thanks.

    regards
    Last edited by jonte1; 10-Nov-2015 at 11:18. Reason: add wording
    I'm shameless like others in the forum -was I to any help or made sense? If yes: click the on the star below to the left. Written whit a ;-) in my eye.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany (Ore Mountains)
    Posts
    428

    Default Re: Log in as wwwrun?

    You may need to add the shell explicitly:
    Code:
    su - wwwrun -s /bin/bash
    if the simple su - <user> does not work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,077

    Default Re: Log in as wwwrun?

    On Tue, 10 Nov 2015 18:26:01 +0000, jonte1 wrote:

    > Here it comes it again that different dist have different
    > solutions/advice. Well i'm using opensuse and are not interested how
    > other dist are using sudo.


    Sudo is an entirely valid solution here as well. In fact, that's what I
    started with originally - regardless of distro, there's more than one way
    to do this.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,077

    Default Re: Log in as wwwrun?

    On Tue, 10 Nov 2015 19:26:01 +0000, hendwolt wrote:

    > You may need to add the shell explicitly:
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > su - wwwrun -s /bin/bash
    > --------------------
    >
    > if the simple su - <user> does not work.


    I've not run into that requirement on openSUSE before, but I can see
    where that might be necessary if the user's default shell is set to /bin/
    false

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •